Little Critters: Nice & Naughty (Original Macro Photography)

in #photography6 years ago

Howdy!

While doggy sitting in Rochester, I spend a lot of time with a macro lens attached to my old 7D, exploring my parent's flower gardens. You never quite know what strange insect or alien-looking critter will pop up!

MNM18080320180803-EOS_5559.jpg
Very Green Scene

These monarch butterfly caterpillars have mostly disappeared, encased in their cocoons somewhere out of sight. This little one was happily munching on the leaves of an otherwise-untouched milkweed plant.

MNM18080320180803-EOS_5540.jpg
Bug-Eyed. Literally.

This little fella had some interesting colors going on. His eye isn't 100% in focus, but he was on a leaf high in a seven-foot zinnia, blowing in a strong breeze. It may not look like it, but he was holding on for dear life!

MNM18080320180803-EOS_5615.jpg
A Purdy Butterfly!

And what about the naughty bugs, you ask? They're naughty, alright! Not only are they invasive, but they're... being frutiful and multiplying!

MNM18080320180803-EOS_5648.jpg
Buzz Chikka Wuz-Wuz?

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Gorgeous photos. Love the bug's 'wrestling'. Nice clarity and color too. They are fun to capture, particularly if they're being cooperative. I guess when you're a slow moving bug, that can make it a bit easier. Wonder if they know you're shooting them? A vain bug? I'm trying to vote, but the dumb little button won't work. Not sure what's up with that. Later I shall try again. Have a nice day.

Thanks! They were fairly slow moving, but they didn't exactly stay put. At one point, the mail was hanging on for dear life as she climbed upside-down across the bottom of a leaf!

Steem's been a little difficult for the last couple of days. I've had to log back in to vote on a half dozen occasions, and have gotten the dreaded "Gateway Timeout" a few times, too...

I wonder why caterpillars are so brilliantly colored? I'll have to do a macro of our caterpillars next spring cause they are brilliant too!
Are you dog sitting for your parents? We are dog sitting too...other than the dog snot on the window, it's going well. (the dog plants his nose then drags it down on the window which is why you see the teeth, lol)
Oh, and did you stomp on those trident multipliers :)
IMG_6345.jpg

Awww... He's creating nose art for you! You should see my parents' jeep after they take Vern somewhere.

My parents are in their way home, so I'll be heading back to Mankato tomorrow to get ready for a week-long grad assistant pre-semester workshop.

There's probably some reason most caterpillars are colorful, but you would think it would make them an obvious target for someone bigger and hungry.

What type of pooch are you watching? He looks sort of houndy. Does he bark or "arrroooooo?"

Haaaa it's some kind of lab and it does both bark and arrroooo! lol, you nailed that sound effect!
I shouldn't admit it, but when dogs in a vehicle start barking cause I walk by, I find it wayyyy too fun to just stand there and watch the art magic happen.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-05T03:42:39
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 167.60/200.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 34
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow very wonderful photography and very grateful post . I like it. thank you so much my dear friend.

Great macros!! I hope the reproducing duo aren't pine beetles!! I really like the butterfly, so many colors and patterns! I have never seen a monarch caterpillar, they are pretty neat looking! I don't think we even have monarchs here. We did when I lived out east.

That lost shot has some really fine detail in it, very nice...and that caption had me laughing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50