Lake Hanska County Park (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Howdy,

Yesterday was bright, sunny, and the temperature was perfect! I couldn't waste the entire day inside, so I did a quick search online for local history, ruins, etc, and found what looked to be an amazing find.

It was a bit lack-luster, but I still got some nice photos!

MM201920190610EOS_3182.jpg
Burial Mounds

The Lake Hanska County Park boasts a 2500-year-old Native American village. It's an archaeological site, unmarked, and I wasn't able to find it. However, the park also contains a burial mound. A trail leads to a bench at the top, which seemed a little disrespectful to me. I wouldn't want someone crawling around on my ancestors' graves.

MM201920190610EOS_3162.jpg
Does This Count?

The previous photo is of the "ruins" of Fort Hanska. I forget what site mentioned "ruins," but they may have been overstating things a little. The only evidence there was ever a fort at this location is the hill and level spot on top. If you look hard, you can see where it was leveled. Wow.

MM201920190610EOS_3173.jpg
E.T. Crossing

Did a kindergartener make that sign?! Seriously... The path was obvious, so there wasn't really any need for a sign. An arrow would also have done the trick. This trail ended with a view of a local farm field. It was a pretty day, though, and made for a nice image.

MM201920190610EOS_3181.jpg
Oh Crop!

As for the lake, Hanska is very long. Hanska (pronunciation) is the word for "long" in Dakota.

MM201920190610EOS_3183.jpg
Lake "Long"

It was a lovely day to be out and about and, even though the park didn't live up to my expectations and the insects feasted on my flesh, it was still fun. The coffee and pastry in nearby New Ulm helped!

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

Blogtagweku.jpg

Sort:  

So much occurred in our own backyards in times gone by. Have you been to Pipestone National Monument?

I haven't gotten out there, but would like to. It's a bit too far for a day trip.

Yeah...it is a long way across MN!

I'm most impressed by the clouds of Dakota. And I like the burial mound photo that tricks the eye with a sloping horizon line.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is southern Minnesota, but it's much the same as the Dakotas. I lived on the east side of SD for awhile and, other than fewer rivers and a few less hills, it's much the same: a lot of sky.

Lol the sign looks like some ufo nutcase painted it. Beware of the greys d0000de!

Right! Well, if a UFO was going to land somewhere, rural Minnesota would be a good spot... lol

Howdy sir fotosdenada! That looks like a great trip but it's too bad there wasn't much there. I do like that sign though! lol. Even I could do a sign like that! Hey it looks like farmers are getting into the fields and getting some planting done too!

Welll, I wouldn't make another trip out there, but it was fun to see. I'm sure there are more interesting spots to explore, if I can only figure out where to find them.

Yes sir, it takes alot of research doesn't it? And you go farther and farther on each trip!

Such great shots of this beautiful area, that sign is Hmm interesting maybe they had a project to get signs made by local Kindergarten students

Thanks! I'm sticking with "alien crossing" lol

LOL who knows you could well be right

It looks like you had a very enjoyable day at the Lake Hanska County Park @fotosdenada, It is a very picturesque spot and I'm sure you were glad of the beautiful weather.

Maybe the ruins were a bit of a letdown, but the scenery is amazing! I even like the kindergarten sign! The clouds are beautiful. I'm sorry about the bugs. That always seems to be the trade-off for nice days.

Well, the battle wounds will heal, and I sent a few dozen gnats too their demise :-) There has to be an effective repellent out there, somewhere!

My husband is a beekeeper and gets stung a lot. The mosquitoes don't bother him much anymore. My theory is that his blood is 90 percent bee venom. Maybe give that a try? Haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @fotosdenada! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4000 replies. Your next target is to reach 4250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43