Glimpses of Mankato

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Greetings! ¡Muy buenas!

After the first day of training, I walked downtown Mankato for supper and came across some interesting sights!

Después del primer día de entrenimiento, andaba al cento de Mankato para la cena y ¡encontré unas vistas interesantes!

McMillanM20170807-EOS_3054.jpg
First Presbyterian Church

I see the light! ¡Veo la luz!

McMillanM20170807-EOS_3064.jpg
Tracks — Ferrocarril

Mankato is a railroad hub and has some interesting tracks. Trains can even be heard from the room I rent throughout the night. The above shot was taken from the Mulberry Street bridge, which crosses the Minnesota River.

Mankato tiene un conjunto de ferrocarriles y tiene unos interesantes. Los trenes se escuchan desde mi piso por todo la noche. La foto anterior se hizo desde el puente en c/ Mulberry que cruce el Río Minnesota.

McMillanM20170807-EOS_3061.jpg
I'm a stereotype! — ¡Soy un estereotipo!

My English as a Foreign Language students in Spain would laugh at this one! A burger and fries, the stereotypical "American food."

¡Mis alumnos de inglés como idioma extranjero se reirían de esta foto! Una hamberguesa y patatas fritas, la "comida americana" estereotipica.

Thanks for taking a look! More to come, as time permits...

*¡Gracias por dar un viztaso! Subiré más cuando el tiempo permite...

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Mankato is such a cool town @fotosdenada. When I was at my busiest with travel and photography during 2014 - 2015, @guthrie would stay with a friend of mine in Mankato. I loved the drive. Thanks for sharing. Glad to see you're still here on Steemit sharing your art.

Thanks @kommienezuspadt! Mankato is definitely an interesting little town. You're right about the drive from the cities, too. That winding highway that follows the river is much more pleasant than the Rochester HWY 52 drive.

I'm hoping to be able to post regularly throughout the school year, but I'm teaching a section of Spanish 101 and taking the maximum load for a master's student, so it may be difficult to find time for much else. Here's hoping!

I've never been to Mankato but I went to grad. school with a guy from there and he loved it. He always talked about how it was a neat place to live. Good luck teaching your class! I hope you have fun teaching it. I remember teaching while I was getting my masters-doctorate and it was a lot of work while taking my own classes. You hardly get time to have fun with all the readings and papers.

It should be an experience. At least my classes are all in the evenings, so I'll have time to prepare and get homework done in the morning.

I love train tracks...and burgers - the perfect post HAHA! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68180.36
ETH 2642.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70