Fog At Twilight (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

It's hot. Temperatures in southern Minnesota have hit above 90ºF (about 32ºC) with humidity as high as 80%. During the warmest part of the day, it's hard to breathe out there. The high humidity keeps sweat from evaporating, negating the body's natural cooling.

Weather like this can provide some spectacular ambiance, though! When temperatures drop at night, the fog rolls in. Driving out to the local State Park, I found this low-lying field blanketed with a dense fog and colored by the evening sky.

MM201920190712EOS_4701.jpg
Mosquito Heaven

There were quite a few fireflies out, but it was too early to use the right settings to capture them. At least, with my old 7D, it was. They are difficult to capture as it is, but the fog dims their already feeble light.

The trees at the edge of the field look eerie in the fog.

MM201920190712EOS_4683.jpg
Scary Movie Murder Scene

This lat photo was taken earlier in the evening. The park's large waterfall creates quite a spray and, with so much humidity, it doesn't burn off as quickly. Light passing through overhead branches reflects off the droplets, creating beautiful sunbeams.

I was hoping for a model, but none of the nearby squirrels was interested in the job. Maybe I should have brought some nuts or a bird feeder.

MM201920190711EOS_4613.jpg
Where's My Model?

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

I love the lighting on the "Where's my Model" photo. Definitely has a lot to look at. Our summer has been very mild this year, oddly enough, but the mosquitos and gnats are pretty nasty as usual! Did you make a decision on that interview yet?

Thanks! I am thinking of turning it down, but still haven't decided. I wanted to meet with one of the professors I had about it, but he hasn't responded to my email. Maybe tomorrow...

I found a few good leads that actually pay pretty well.

Excellent shots! This weather keeps me stuck indoors just as much as the snow and cold does in the winter.

Thanks! Yeah... We have thunderstorms, to be followed by almost 100ºF and intense humidity. Here's hoping it's over soon!

Wow! That's some pretty challenging weather! It's been warm and humid here, too, but nothing so bad as that. You sure found the silver lining, though. Those pictures are stunning!

Thanks! It's been pouring, lately. I left my sunroof open a crack and it was parked at an angle... I ran out mid-storm to close it, but the inside was already completely doused. At least it has fancy "real Corinthian Pleather" lol. Hopefully none of the electronics short out.

Oh no! I've left my windows open so many times and gone out to find a soaking wet seat. I'll keep my fingers crossed for your electronics!

Posted using Partiko Android

Great shots, particularly the last one with the light.

Howdy sir fotosdenada! Man, what great photos! Sitting here admiring all of them for their different looks. It's hard to believe it's so humid that far North, that kinda sucks! But the temps cool off nicely at night right?

Thanks! It's getting worse, too. It's probably too hot and humid for fog at this point, but maybe we'll have some interesting weather when the temps drop a bit... whenever that will be.

I'm fine with heat but humidity wipes me out. That's why they move in slow motion in Alabama and Louisana.

Yeah, Spain was dry heat where I lived. 100 ºF is never pleasant, but it's a lot easier with low humidity.

Yes sir, I don't mind the heat, I like our area in North Texas because of the low humidity. Have you gotten any more job interviews set up?

Foggy shots can be so magical, we hit 100 today with similar temperatures it made me keep my walking shorter than usual and it will be even hotter on Saturday

It's like being in a sauna, isn't it? I went to the waterfall today, and it was even hot there. Usually, the spray off the falls evaporates and drops the temperature quite a bit, but it's too humid to evaporate.

Ohh yeah I said just that to my wife the other day and will be the same or worse tomorrow, I went for a walk this morning it was only 70F but the humidity was 94% and I really felt it

I love those moody shots! I understand how the high humidity makes breathing difficult. I live in Florida and it affects me that way. Glad you found a good result of that humidity.

Thanks! Florida is pretty intense, that way. We usually only have a week or two like this in Minnesota.

That’s enough! I always enjoy October to May when the humidity is normally gone.

It is too hot, that's for sure!

Brilliant photography there loved it

Wow nice! They looks so misty like in a fairytale movie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64