Farm Animals at the Fair (Original B&W Photography)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Howdy!

It's the week of the Olmsted County Fair in Rochester, MN and, as I'm in town to help with a project and possibly do a little dog watching, I decided to head over and see what there was to see.

MNM18072620180726-EOS_5065.jpg
Ladies In Waiting
The cows looked bored, tied to the fence as they were. Then again, they are cows, and this is probably the most excitement they've had in awhile. The human watching was probably interesting enough.

MNM18072620180726-EOS_5083.jpg
Emilie
Emilie, here, looked up as I walked past.

MNM18072620180726-EOS_5066.jpg
"At the cow wash, yeah!"
The cows were up next for judging, so the 4H kids were vacuuming them, then giving them a hose-down. The ladies looked mildly annoyed but, in typical cow fashion, were more or less good natured about it.

MNM18072620180726-EOS_5067.jpg
"I like big butts..."
I'm not really much of a fair enthusiast, especially here in the USA. Food is triple the price it should be and, aside from the animal barns, there's little geared toward adults. Children seem to have more fun, as there are many fair rides and games for them to play at Mom and Dad's expense. There was a stage set up, with a decent cover band playing, though, and an over-priced beer garden that was packed to the rafters.

MNM18072620180726-EOS_5079.jpg
Inmate #04864
After a $6 funnel cake (ouch!), I headed back into the pig and goat barn for a few more photos. There are far fewer pigs than I've seen before. Whether it's due to the easily transmitted swine diseases or maybe because it's a free fair and the prizes aren't what they used to be, I couldn't say.

MNM18072620180726-EOS_5088.jpg
"Hi!"
The goats were, by far, the best part of this year's fair. They seem to like me. Several jumped up like this one, as I approached, and they let me scratch their necs and rub their noses. Their ears sort of feel like hound dog ears, except thicker.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

The Emilie photo says sneaky cow all over her! lol Love the B&W choice!

I bet that Emilie is a stalker cow! It's the glint in her eyes... She's putting something.

Haaa yup, I wouldn’t want to get on Emilie’s bad side lol.

One more nice post of yours. The goat looked happier than the cows in this barn as i can see from the photos and its ear seems strange indeed. I m not an expert of course but here in Hellas goats are different.
Have a nice day !

Thank you. There were many different types of goats at the fair, but this one was asking for a portrait :-) I've noticed that many farm animals are different between here and Spain, too. Especially the pigs and cattle. In the USA, the pigs are mostly pink, and I never see the Iberian varieties.

MNM18072620180726-EOS_5089.jpg

To be honest , the eyes of all animals in there had this sad look .. It seems there many varieties indeed !

I think most are bored and being at the fair stresses them. The goat looking out of the fence seemed to be having fun, though :-)

You saw the live image so i 'll stay on your words.
Have a nice day !

great capture!!! I love the lighting, this is truly outstanding, again, lovely b/w photograph

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76