Evening Trains (Original Photography)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Greetings!

With some blessed downtime and Minnesota delivering warmer weather, I was able to get out and enjoy life a little. The state park is flooded, and I couldn't find any interesting photos there today, so I headed back to town and walked to the center for an ice cream cone. As I was walking back, tasty treet in hand, I heard the train coming. They're slow through town, so I had plenty of time to finish the sugary little blob of heaven and find a good spot to take photos.

MNM20180428-EOS_90382018.jpg
Westward Bound!

This train was going very slow; about ten miles per hour. As it approached my location, it slowed and came to a complete stop!

MNM20180428-EOS_90612018.jpg
Two Tracks?

Just as I started taking photos of this one, I heard a whistle from behind. Another train was approaching! The spot I chose to take photos from is actually a little park around a bend in the track, so I wasn't in much danger of being squished. The engineers on these trains seem pretty cool too, and usually wave when they see me.

MNM20180428-EOS_90442018.jpg
Eastward Bound!

The train in the above photo was heading west, and stopped to pick up grain-filled boxcars. The other train, of course, is headed eastward, laden with oil cars and cars full of scrap metal.

MNM20180428-EOS_90582018.jpg
Walkie Talkie Guy

The guy with the radio seemed bored. Who knows what his job entails, though? At least he has a great view of the river to look at, when he's not busy.

MNM20180428-EOS_90282018.jpg
Second Sun?

And then, things got boring. Both trains were stopped and anything interesting was happening far down the track. This street lamp caught my eye on the way out.

Sort:  

Cool shots - I like the lights coming off the trains! Keep it up

Thanks! Those lights are really bright, but I liked the effect too.

Hey man, I think I already told that I love your train shots :) Dark and moody! The way the headlights are reflected off the train tracks is very nice.

Thanks, Dan! It helps that they are curving all over, too. With the compression of the tele lens, even the straight stretches look... wobbly.

Cool lamp post photo...almost looks like it is fire lit. And the trains have great depth to them as well. I have to say as I was reading your post and you heard another train, I was thinking RUNNNN!!! lol

But I didn't get squished! Lol
The lamp caught my eye, but then, I took lots of photos of lamps when I lived in Spain for some reason.

Examples of lamp addiction:

FB_IMG_1525018159986.jpg

FB_IMG_1525018081936.jpg

I may need to find a support group...

Haaaa street lamp therapy!! I can just imagine passing by a lamp saying, I think I can, I think I can..lol Those lamps are stunning!! I too find myself taking pics of lamps, but your's are a wow!!

You have a lamp addiction?? That's so interesting....the scroll work on these are lovely. :)

Light fixtures always seem to grab my attention, when I'm out taking photos. They're such a great example of functional art. Well, some of them are.

My undergraduate degree is in industrial design (product design) and I, originally, wanted to go into lighting design. Unfortunately, the economy tanked when I graduated, and my skills are out of date. I did have a really good interview for a company near Seattle, WA that mkes park and dock lighting. It was during the recession and there were much more qualified, laid-off designers applying.

In the end, I went to Spain for three years and decided to get a MS in Spanish. So it's not all bad! Now, if I could only find a light design company in Spain... lol

Yes!! Exactly. What a cool interest though. You are artsy in your own right. I've never met anyone with a degree in design. That's amazing! And now you have an MS?? I looked it up - it's the equivalent of MA but they call it an MS. Learn something all the time, I do.

Spain is still calling your name is it. I hope you find what you are looking for too.

Haha, well... I still have a year left of this matters program, but I'll get there. One more year with the bison and that amazing twisted up tree :-)

I'm not sure why we have matters of arts and science separated in the USA. Sometimes what program goes where seems random, too.

I won't tire of those shots so keep on taking them!!

What Dan said :) Same. Love those reflections. Beautiful shots @fotosdenada!

Thanks, Deb! I'm still hoping to get one of those trains in the wild, but they're sneaky!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99