Cursed! (Original B&W Photograph)

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Howdy!

I'll call this a submission to #monomad, even though it's a mobile phone image and not my usual polished DSLR work. A little post processing into high-contrast monochrome really adds punch to it, though!

MM2018jeepers.jpgAnd it was SNOWING

So, why cursed? Everything I touch appears to be falling apart, lately! Of course, vehicles always seem to break when I look at them cross-ways, but it's been many other things, too! My best lens needs to be sent in to repair the manual focus switch, my shoelace snapped, my computer headphones crapped out just before an online class, and the list goes on and on!

Then, driving home from class, I heard this strange "Boop!" sound from my Jeep. At first I thought it was the radio. "Boop!" I turned off the radio and it went away... but not for long! "Boop!" This time, I noticed a light, but it disappeared before I could read it.

"Boop!" Door not closed all the way? Nope.

"Boop!" Pulling into my driveway, I saw the light was on again and, this time, didn't disappear when I looked at it. "Check gauges" it said. The battery charge gague was somewhere between "you'll be walking soon" and "RIP." That's when the real fun started. Lights began blinking on and off on the dashboard and my oil pressure gauge was flopping around like a freshly-caught fish! I thought it was the battery. It wasn't!

As you might have guessed, it was the alternator. I've changed about four of these in the last couple years, so I'm pretty much an expert at alternator replacements. Like I say, CURSED!!!

Those of you who have followed my posts may remember the "fun" I had repairing the Ford Ranger or the engine replacement for this Jeep earlier in the spring. I'm hoping things will settle down now, but I've said that before!

Fortunately, the Jeep alternator was much easier to change out than my old Ford Ranger's was. That may have something to do with the belt not being absurdly tight. So, another $300 later, and I'm back on the road. Regardless, three trips to the car part store and about an hour later, the Jeep is back in shape. WIth all the pracctice from previous alternators, the organ replacement surgery only took about 15 minutes. I didn't even draw blood this time!

So, how does one break the dreaded Curse of Everything I Touch Goes Bad? I'm thinking of a ritualistic ceremony involving a chocolate overdose, but I'm open to suggestions. Does anyone know a good shaman that could tell the bad spirits to bugger off?

Well, it's time to try and find some chocolate!

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Omg, that's SO bad it's actually funny...jeeezazz! So glad you have your humor about you! Priceless how you explained your cursed story! I think it might be fun to touch people that are familiar with your dreaded curse and when you touch them say, "Tag, You're it!" lol
I'm sending good karma your way!!!

The saga continues! My sunglasses were snapped this morning. Ugh! I wonder if any farmers around here have sacrificial goats available? Oooh! Maybe I can give it to someone else... mwahahaha.

At least I can fix the sunglasses with a little epoxy. They don't have to be stylish, right?

Love the goat idea lol
I know a pilot that when in bad weather he chats
Chicken bones chicken bones lucky lucky chicken bones. Yah, I’m not even going to suggest you give that one a go BUT if it entertains you, why not.
As for the sunglasses. I bet you are rocking them even if you had to use duct tape lol

So, how does one break the dreaded Curse of Everything I Touch Goes Bad? I'm thinking of a ritualistic ceremony involving a chocolate overdose, but I'm open to suggestions.

I would go for a healthy intoxication with beer :)

lol WISE advise!! :)

Perhaps this weekend... lol

haha! howdy there fotosdenada! When it rains it pours doesn't it? Did you do the engine replacement yourself?

If I had the equipment, I might have been foolish enough to try doing it myself. It would have been a lot less expensive! I can handle the easier things, but a full replacement is a little out of my league. It's still better the old Ford Ranger was.

Oh I get it sir fotosdenada, I'm the same way, or used to be, now with everything computerized I don't fool with any of it.

Pfff..Seems your Luck is mad at you these period. Did you cheat on her?
Make it melted choco with banana or orange in it. In a ceremony you need something to flow...!

Join in on my #looking up tag! Who knows? It might work!

Hello @fotosdenada, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01