Minnesota Wildlife

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

With temperatures back below 50ºF (10ºC), the hike to the river was a bit nippy. I was hoping that the cold weather would keep the hikers away from the state park, so I could have the wildlife to myself... and it paid off!

Mr. Beaver has been difficult to get a good shot of, especially with my 70-300mm f/4-5.6 telephoto lens not working properly. I ended up using the 100mm f/2.8 macro. Not exactly ideal for wildlife, but it got the shot! I was out in full cammo, though, so I got a lot closer than I normally can! :D

McMillanM20170519-EOS_9791-2.jpg

A kingfisher posed for a shot, too! This time, the 70-300 managed to work. He / she landed on the perfect little perch!

McMillanM20170519-EOS_9771.jpg

On the way out of the park, the horizon opened up to show a little clear sky.

McMillanM20170519-EOS_9814.jpg

And now, amigos, it's time to check for ticks!

Sort:  

I hope no ticks, lol! Let's go shooting and playing again soon. :)

We still need that amazing yoga pose in the art museum :D

Fortunately, no ticks! Not like that time in Literatura Latinoamericana... Definitely should go shooting again. We need a yoga photo in the art museum for you!

Yes, all the yoga photos! HAHAHA. 100% I'll wear appropriate yoga clothing.

Stunning photos!

Thank you! I missed the great blue heron, but next time....

Lol I know what you mean! I find the downside to being a photographer is that horrible feeling every time you miss a great shot.

Amazing post.

love your pictures :) nature is amazing ;)

Thanks! Fun to hunt with a camera, too.

I love the first photograph! So cute. It would be awesome to see a beaver in the wild one day.

Thanks! They usually see me first and disappear with a slap of the tail!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55