Country Fields (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Howdy,

Finally, the rain has let up! We have had almost an entire week without rain, and it's more than tneeded. Heading off along the gravel back roads in southern Minnesota to see what here was to see, I found a few interesting compositions. In this first one, you can see that standing water is still a problem.

MM201920190723EOS_5082.jpg
Row, row, row your... field?

There are large ponds in the low-lying parts of many fields. Farmers have had to work around them, unable to produce as much as they have in past years as a result.

Higher ground is looking dry, though. This section of the same field looks very healthy, despite being several weeks behind schedule. The frigid spring and water kept farmers out of their fields long after they would have liked to do spring planting.

MM201920190723EOS_5078.jpg
Rolling Hills of Food

The corn seems to have mostly caught up, judging by this field. There were some low areas, but I couldn't see standing water. Not seeing holse in the field is a pretty good indicator that there aren't any big ponds, though!

I'm not sure what kind of corn this is. It's short and the tassels look odd. The corn across the road was much taller.

MM201920190723EOS_5085.jpg
Corny Photo

Some of you may remember that I couldn't find any mushrooms this spring. Well, the intense heat of last week, combined with the absurd humidity levels led to a bunch of different fungi popping up everywhere! I hope to get some more photos of them, as I have time.

MM201920190721EOS_4987.jpg
A Shroom! A Shroom!!!

For now, though, I'm continuing to apply for work and hoping something comes up sooner rather than later.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

I agree...these are great shots!! I can't say I've ever seen a shroom portrait :)
Thanks for sharing as I've heard about the flooding of the crops but didn't know it was that bad.

Thanks! We've had crazy rainstorms this summer. The last big one caused a mudslide that took out a few trees that landed across one of the busier roads in Mankato. I didn't see it in time, though. They had it cleared before I could take photos.

Those are great shots! I love the ones with the rows of crops going into the distance. I'm glad the rain has let up! What a soaking you've had. I hope the farmers get a decent haul.

Thanks! I guess time will tell. Some of the crops are quite a bit behind and, if we get an early frost, it could be a bad year. Here's hoping we get a long, pleasant autumn. After the winter, spring, and summer we've had, we ought to be due for one decent season...

No kidding! You've hit the bad weather jackpot this year! I'll keep my fingers crossed!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @fotosdenada! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 450 posts. Your next target is to reach 500 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Great row crop photos! Such strange weather this year. Glad to see the corn tasseling, a late frost will be good this year. Good luck with the job search!

Howdy sir fotosdenada! The crops should be really good this year with all that subsoil moisture! Really nice photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60955.99
ETH 2884.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63