Back Roads Drive: Mankato Skies (Original Photography)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Howdy!

Even though my Jeep is still at the mechanic getting its motor replaced, I managed to get out to the countryside for a few photos. I'll pay for the trip later, but it was worth it. My father has kindly lent me his truck while my vehicle is out of commission.

Just west of the city of Mankato, Minnesota (USA), along dusty gravel roads, the landscape quickly becomes agricultural. This lonely combine sat at the edge of a large corn field, waiting for the farmer's return.

MM201820181003-EOS_7191.jpgSulking Combine

It is easy to spot where the farm houses and barns are on the horizon. The stands of trees planted for a little privacy and protection from the wind are a giveaway.

MM201820181003-EOS_7203.jpgWhere's the Farmhouse?

Some fields have interesting textures or color patterns. I'm not certain as to what causes the pattern in this next image, but it made for an interesting photo!

MM201820181003-EOS_7234.jpgAgricultural Field Lines

The old Canon 7D has a little trouble in these low-light conditions and my tripod is still in the back of my Jeep. Still, the results are usable, if not very sharp.

MM201820181003-EOS_7254.jpgLittle Tree, Ominous Clouds

Driving on gravel with fairly strong wind is interesting. The roads were still moist enough that the truck didn't kick up very much dust, but the wind pushed me around a bit.

MM201820181003-EOS_7135-2.jpgVery Corny Sunset

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Hey, so glad you are getting the engine fixed! Always love the titles of your photos and my fav is the "Very Corny Sunset" lol

Thanks! The mechanic said if should be done this weekend!

Nice shots´s fotosdenada and also good to know that the jeep is in order to run arround again.

Zwischenlinie-2 für Steem-Post 940x120.png
mit sonnigen Grüßen aus Andalusien

Don Thomas

Thanks! I'm still using my dad's truck for the moment, but the Jeep should be ready by Wednesday :-)

great pics! Pensé que te habías hecho "tuning" con el Jeep y lo habías convertido en un tractor John Deer!! :) heheheheh mucha suerte con el nuevo motor y a ver si te lo devuelven pronto! :)

Jajaja pues esa máquina vale más que diez jeeps así ¡sería un milagro! Me dijeron que debe estar listo este finde.

Pues a ver si tienes suerte y te lo dejan en buenas condiciones 😊👍🚘 que disfrutes del fin de semana!

Your captions usually make me laugh!
All great shots, but really like the first and last, not to mention the captions

Thanks! It was nice to see the sun, especially since we've got a week of gloomy forecasts. That's alright, though. I've got a lie of homework to get done...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70