Hippo in South Africa - Safari Photography Blog

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

I was in South Africa for the second time to photograph Leopards. As we were driving around looking for Leopards (often found up a tree with an gazelle or impala in it's teeth), we passed a watering hole. As I am always looking for birds in my down time between Leopards and more Leopards, i looked around the edges of the watering hole for birds.

Then i realized... the watering hole was looking back at me. This watering hole belongs to a Hippo.

_D3B5889 - Copy

So we sat for a while, trying to capture great photographs of a Hippo. But often times Hippo can be difficult to photograph nicely, because they are brown and living in brown water... challenging.

Finally he got sick of us and let out a prehistoric roar and that allowed me to capture some great shots.

_D3B5863 - Copy

_D3B5860 - Copy

Then we obliged him and we left.

Thank you tot he steemit community for the chance to share these images.

If you enjoyed this post please follow me @foodieandphoto as i release photographic blogs from my collection spanning over 40,000 images. If you really enjoyed this post please resteem to your followers.

Sort:  

Omg, these pictutes are incredible! I would love to see one of those one day with my own eyes in the wild life too. But only from a safe distance ;)

Thanks so much for the kind words, it really encourages me.

Thanks for the follow, i am also following you. I love a good beast!

Cool, thanks!

Excellent shots. Thank you for sharing

I am so glad you enjoyed them.

Wow the size of those 'nashers' - what a fab picture
quite territorial Hippo's , probably thought you were after his pond
great share again

You're absolutely correct about their territory. He could hear me clicking away with my camera... Not Happy! He was probably worried i was going to put his pond on craigslist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61620.03
ETH 3394.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50