You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photo Series #53: Simple Sunday Photography | A Message from Nature

in #photography6 years ago

Cambodia was heart breaking for me; even though it has been years since the genocide has stopped, the poverty is so vast, and sadness and fear in people's faces has not vanished. They are the most gentle people I have met. Unfortunately, Vietnam's government has still so much power over the country, that can you imagine all of the fees to see Angkor Wat (45usd per person, and there are millions going to see it) end up in Vietnam's hands instead of helping the country recover. Not sure what the people there are doing or even can do, but personally when I visit such places, I try to pay for services directly to local people. For example, we were in Angkor Wat for 3 days and we hired a personal local guide to tell us all about the temple, the history, the people. He is the one that told us about all the fees going to Vietnam. Normally we never hire guides, but in this case we thought we could help a little. Did the same in Nepal and Egypt Seeing that the money stays in the country and with a company that hires locally and treats its emplyees well.

Sort:  

I can imagine! It's so sad to see power supressing the people, it's like people are trapped in that system without being able to fight back. I try to imagine how much they could achieve by working together.
Hats off to you for thinking about contracting guides to help.
I've heard that Cambodia is super cheap in terms of accomodation and food. Is it a violent country?
In Brazil the violence is getting worse everyday...

Oh my goodness, not violent at all; quite the opposite: they are such gentle, good people. It is super cheap there. Anywhere in SE Asia (except for Singapore) is dirt cheap to travel, esp when compared to Europe.

Yaa that's what I've heard.
I just can't understand how some parts of South America can be so violent, I think violence here is directly related to drug dealing.

That's too bad :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60420.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60