Nature Pictures Of Birds In Upper Michigan

in #photography6 years ago

Hey folks, this is Addie. I’m currently in Upper Michigan. I managed to get in a jog along Lake Superior, and took a bunch of pictures. A few of them were actually in focus, and the birds I was aiming at were actually in shot, so here they are. I think I’ve gotten pictures of a LeCont’s Sparrow, a Common Yellowthroat, and a Cape May Warbler. I also got a picture of a Least Chipmunk (I think it’s a Least Chipmunk and not an Eastern Chipmunk—yes, chipmunks come in several species!). And of course, when I see something a bit humorous, I like to get a picture if it’s tactful.

DSCF7331 don't enter cliff path.jpg

DSCF7333 pos cape may warbler.jpg

DSCF7342 pos cape may warbler.jpg

DSCF7344 pos cape may warbler.jpg

DSCF7347 pos LeConts Sparrow.jpg

DSCF7357 pos LeConts Sparrow.jpg

DSCF7359 pos common yellowthroat.jpg

DSCF7360 pos common yellowthroat.jpg

DSCF7374 least Chipmunk.jpg

I know the birds aren’t great pictures, but they weren’t exactly all cooperating! Think of it as a chance to play “seek and find” and from there, you can take my suggested identification and check it. I used the Audubon bird identification guide website as my resource for identifying birds, but when it comes to getting this fleeting and blurry kind of look at a bird, I’ll be willing to consider other suggestions!

Thanks for checking in on us, have a great day!

Brought to you by:
FBD Sticker 4.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for the great pictures and for identifying them. I like the chipmunk the best.

one of our cats ate a chipmunk the other day ;)

Your poor cats will be going hungry in a Michigan backyard with no critters to hunt. You will have to import some critters for the ruthless hunters to keep their skills honed.

ya poor cats. plan to get those robot laser things you attach to the ceiling and when they sense a cat they go crazy with red dots. our cats love red dots.

Please be careful with red dots. I still have mine from my aussie that passed away last December. She was almost OCD for lasers and would run herself to death trying to catch one. We did 'no lasers' with her for 1.5 years and then I started a small amount of play. Some animals are ruined by them and then 'never turn off the prey drive' when laser is put away they are still looking for it. They progress to chasing shiny lights, glistening chrome,..etc. Ruins the animal cause they are always 'on' looking for the dot. If they don't calm down when laser is put away then it is too much for them as a toy.

you show them where it comes from and show them it is turned off then they learn and dont get ocd. my cats know it comes from the pointer and will go paw at it when they want to play dot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63491.36
ETH 3082.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86