White Sunday

in #photography7 years ago

1*VEfrVk2R3Gis0m-W6yR7uA.jpg

I took this picture last Easter Sunday here in Odessa. The Photo is now hanging in the Local my community federal Credit Union for the time being under the title "White Sunday"... Infrared Photography, open sunlight. Duck pond, Green trees and grass with a blue sky.... Transformed into another world. Yesterday marked 9 years since my father passed away from cancer. Taken too early. He was an artist, sculptor and extremely passionate human who became a teacher. I wish I could have sat in one of his classes, just to see that side of him. both of my parents were artists and very active in the art community. I can't count the number of their art shows that I have been to. And I love to go to a really good art show. I love the type of people that go, the food and culture and pure character of truly authentic and gifted artists. Last night on the anniversary of my fathers death I was able to go to a show by a local Photo artist who I look up to and hold in the highest regard. Class was cut short and I was able to go, and see her amazing work. When you're around so much talent, it brings out the best in you. I remember that feeling growing up around my parents and their community of artists... I felt that again last night in the presence of greatness. It felt like a celebration of life even though I didn't know many people beside the artist, instructors and a few students...overall I had a great day, it's always hard to observe the anniversary of the death of a parent whether you think so or not, and no matter how much time goes by. I woke up and chose to have a magical fucking day no matter what, and I had to scream that at the top of my lungs to make myself believe it--because sometimes that's what it takes to get that mystical mechanism of manifestation to take over and get those feet moving. I really look forward to the future and change, and the new people in my path. I am grateful for my family and friends, my elders and teachers, my mentors and my tribe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49