National Balloon Classic at Indianola!

in #photography7 years ago

IMG_1844.JPG
I waited a long time to attend this event and it did not disappoint! The National Balloon Classic in Indianola, Iowa was held earlier this month. What a fantastic experience! This event is held annually in late July or early August.IMG_1849.JPG
And we have lift-off!
IMG_1886.JPG
A breathtaking view of balloons preparing to land!
IMG_1900.JPG
Such a variety of colors and patterns; even Tweety Bird and Peg-Leg Pete flew in!
IMG_1920.JPG

To top off the evening, a "night-glow" was held. The balloons were all lined up on the ground and at dusk, the pilots lit them up at the same time. A perfect way to end an Iowa evening!

Sort:  

Wow! I would love to attend one of these hot air balloon fests. Coincidentally, I just saw one personally - my first! - from a distance, a day ago... That was pretty exciting, so I can't imagine seeing so many at one time!! Great shots! :)
Resteeming

That's awesome...thanks!

You're most welcome! :)

Congratulations @fermata! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Gorgeous colors - and I especially love the nightshot.

  • U&R

I've only ever seen one balloon at a time. I need to look up festivals like this in my area and go to one sometime. Thanks for the photos. They're great!

I remember going to gat when I was a kid and I was in absolute awe! We have an annual hot air balloon show that flies right over my house. It didn't happen this year due to road construction and I was so disappointed! Glad you had a fun time!

Congratulations @fermata! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.00
ETH 2325.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36