Prelude to an incredible adventure ... (+ original pictures)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

And suddenly everything became clear, after those black clouds went away and let pass the warm rays of the sun in that beautiful journey perfumed by the wild herbs of the Slovenian Karst.
It was a mysterious place indeed, cradled by the crickets song and baptized by the moisture that rose from the grey limestone while being warmed up by the sun.

That summer noon my life changed forever when walking beside Reka River in Slovenia. Crossing the mighty Škocjan caves, going up and down, walking where the legend of Jason and his argonauts is still echoes within the canyon walls carved along millennia by the patient waters.
It was on that last climb when I have connected once again with that kid who claimed for adventures among ruins and magnificent places where the medieval glory took place.
On the last turn to the right, the path took me straight to the entrance of this mythical building that along centuries has been waiting only for me, in front of me it was the mighty Školj castle!

The atmosphere was absolutely immutable, like if nature has decided to calm each single element to accentuate our meeting, our fusion…
The wind was silent, the birds perched on the branches of the oaks and kept still, suddenly the babbling sound of Reka River which sounded since thousands of years ago became quiet, the crickets also silenced their song; but nobody hid but everybody was there contemplating that great moment.

The old walls, tired of being lashed by Burja (the local wind) they stared at me without any single expression rather than the painful cracks to be cured that Školj was showing to me.
Slowly a particular and strange energy invited me to cross the old gates on the access wall. I felt like if each single loop was paying attention to each move I did.

As when going through a magical portal, after crossing the grey stones of the portal something has changed within me and suddenly I felt like the necessity to fix everything, to lift stone by stone to reconstruct my new friend and bring it back to life after being forgotten during the Yugoslavian and nowadays Slovenian attitude of letting their heritage to fall in oblivion.

It was there, where my life has changed, at Školj…

(to be continued)

Sort:  

What will happen next? Can not wait to read!

you'll get to know soon... ;)
thank you for reading @itsginta!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44