Orchidaceae - Orchid 🌷

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hello, My Steem Friends :)

Today I have some Orchid photos for you.

Photo was take by Nikon D3100 and edited by Adobe Photoshop.

The Orchidaceae are a diverse and widespread family of flowering plants, with blooms that are often colourful and fragrant, commonly known as the orchid family.

Along with the Asteraceae, they are one of the two largest families of flowering plants. The Orchidaceae have about 28,000 currently accepted species, distributed in about 763 genera. The determination of which family is larger is still under debate, because verified data on the members of such enormous families are continually in flux. Regardless, the number of orchid species nearly equals the number of bony fishes and is more than twice the number of bird species, and about four times the number of mammal species.

Orchids are easily distinguished from other plants, as they share some very evident, shared derived characteristics, or "apomorphies". Among these are: bilateral symmetry of the flower (zygomorphism), many resupinate flowers, a nearly always highly modified petal (labellum), fused stamens and carpels, and extremely small seeds.

source 1
source 2

@fbslo

Sort:  

Good morning, I have a cousin who makes hybrids of orchids and they are his passion.

My first post I dedicated it to him and although they are post old I leave you the images of the orchids in case you want to see their creations:

More hybrids of Cattleyas (Orchids)

Beautiful photo!!! So Amazing .. It's just perfect .. My favorite color.

Nice captured photo and its edited parfectly. I think its too good....

Nice picture of orchid.....

Guideline to cut an orchid when it falls

For healthy, green spikes: Find a node under the lowest flower bloom. Trim 1 inch above that node.
For unhealthy, brown spikes: Cut all the way back to the base of the plant.
For double-spike orchids: Cut one spike at the base of the plant.

Hello I like your post I just gave you an upvote Make me a visit on my blog and if you like something of me an upvote too.

Beautiful flower. It is easy to take care.

🌸My favourite flowers

Good afternoon, I liked the post but I especially liked the pictures. I see that you have notion in photography and I would like to what analyze my photo https://steemit.com/photography/@proelite/una-simple-fotografia I hope you take into account my humble comment a greeting from Venezuela

colorful orchids flower time is very beautiful, if there is a chance please help me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66498.47
ETH 3469.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62