After Flight Swelling Madness

in #photography4 years ago

After Vacation Blues + Leg Pain

qjrE4yyfw5pGJc5U7EeHPH81qWgWQsG6yFja3hKESAJbihFxC924izpxHRb8MBsQtrxdmGKmBABeCYzibyoR4FeRnvYfRZ5wtPPeGmX1GAr5CsHeNFPpAeK8.jpeg
Photo by the amazing @derangedvisions

Floating in the water, being one with the earth...ahhh...yes! That is where my soul needs to be! Hard to believe this was just a week ago. My heart aches to go back!


The night we got home, I was pretty swollen from the flights, which isn't abnormal...but for me it was. I went to bed, and then slept and slept and slept. Not much moving happened for the next few days...which probably didn't help much. My body was used to rigorous massages and walking miles a day...every day. Ahhhh, massages.......

I started to get some leg pain Monday night, like severe aching, throbbing pain in my legs and hips. Ohhh man it was painful!! I took some medicine and went to bed. Tuesday went by and the pain was still there, but I tried to shrug it off. My legs were heavy, and throbbing.

IMG_4961.jpg
Selfie

Wednesday morning I was having sharp pains behind my knee and after Wes's battle with blood clots early in the year, I was not playing that game. I headed to the hospital...puffy, aching and really hoping I didn't have a blood clot in my leg.

IMG_4959.jpg
Taken by me

While waiting for my Ultrasound results, I was hungry...so I asked for something to eat. Here is my very fancy (and expensive I am sure) lunch of 3 packs of Graham Crackers and Apple Juice. It gave me some energy to continue to wait.

IMG_4960.jpg
Taken By Me

This was my awesome view, I didn't feel like watching TV, so I listened to the other people getting treated in the ER, and prayed to the spirits that I didn't have clots. The Dr came in and told me I have Peripheral Edema

"Peripheral edema is edema (accumulation of fluid causing swelling) in tissues perfused by the peripheral vascular system, usually in the lower limbs. In the most dependent parts of the body (those hanging distally), it may be called dependent edema.

The condition is commonly associated with aging, but can be caused by many other conditions, including congestive heart failure, renal failure, liver cirrhosis, portal hypertension, trauma, alcoholism, altitude sickness, pregnancy, hypertension, sickle cell anemia, compromised lymphatic system, or merely long periods of time sitting or standing without moving.[1] Some medicines (e.g. amlodipine, pregabalin) may also cause or worsen the condition.[2]" source

According to this, it is due to living in Utah...my body is telling me that ocean living is where I SHOULD be.

Really, I got it from not moving enough on the plane, and then not moving much at home once we got here.....annnnd not drinking enough water.

So, note from this post? MOVE on airplanes and don't sleep for 27 hours after a long flight...ha ha ha!!

I am VERY grateful I don't have a blood clot in my leg, but have learned a valuable lesson for our future trips!

I am not hurting as much today, and hope I continue to get better! I had a bit of a post vacation dip in emotion, especially going from beautiful sunny to cold and snowy forcast...seasonal depression came quick and aggressively. I started therapy and have hopes that these high highs, and low lows will start to be more controlled.

Happy Friday Eve and Friday to you all!! Thank you for reading!!

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

I am happy to hear that you do not have clots, that must have been so scary for you. We sometimes learn things the hard way and now you will be more prepared when you travel long distance again. Seaweed is a great addition to your diet as it helps to bring down swellings, sending you healing xxx

If it doesn’t get better over the weekend, I will try it! Thanks love!

you can get it in powered form and use it instead of salt xx

Ugh! My husband has had several blood clots. It runs in his family and is always scary! I am glad you don’t have clots.

I am feeling you on the swelling! The older I get and the heavier the worse the swelling gets while traveling. This Sunday I have a 16 hour flight from Australia back to the US and will surely be missing the warm and hating my leg stiffness too.

Feel better!

Yikes!!! They are too scary to mess around with! I hope your hubby is doing alright 😘 thank you for the love!!

dblog logo w white background.jpg
This post is upvoted by @dblog.supporter.
Visit https://dblog.io now! This is a tribe for all bloggers on Steem blockchain.

Congratulations @faitherz33! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 90 posts. Your next target is to reach 100 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

oh sugar! hope you are feeling better. I'm sure @derangedvisions will take good care of you when you get home :)

i wish you good health and a speedy recovery!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87