Lighthouse in Nazaré, Portugal - Color Challenge Monday [full post]

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

It was February of last year when my partner and I embarked on our year long travel around the globe. Nazaré is situated on Portugal's coast a few hours from Lisbon. Back then, we were just two kids who hadn't a clue. I had booked us for a clifftop apartment with sweeping views over the sea. What I didn't book, however, was a violent winter tempest. I'll never forget being huddled around a tiny space heater when the phone rang. Christy went silent as the color drained from her face. Her grandfather had passed away.

"Papa" was a man of the seas. He loved his family dearly and spent many years of his life taking anyone and everyone out fishing. It is undeniable he was the source of this unexpected storm. After a restless night's sleep, we awoke the next day with heavy hearts and a monumental choice to make: are we to stay on our journey or fly home for the service?

This was not a decision to be made over breakfast and so we made our way down to the icy shore in search of answers. The wind whipped across the deserted shore as we aimlessly wandered. So many questions flooded my brain. We made way towards the edge of the land and were confronted by a small lighthouse. Lighthouses serve two purposes: a warning sign for sailors that there are perilous conditions ahead and also as a beacon of light, showing them the way. It was here at this very point Christy and I both felt Papa's presence.

lighthouse.jpg

The choice to be cautious and take shelter back in the refuge of our hometown had its draw, surely, but it was that beacon that shone most brightly. The bold choice to continue on this important journey. As these feelings washed over us, the sun burned through the clouds, parting way to the direction we had chosen. We knew in our hearts we had made the right decision.

I am thankful to this day for the understanding and support of her family in our choice to continue. To me, we had our own service. What better place to send her grandfather off than on the coast of the Atlantic ocean, smiling back on the lands we grew up on across the way?


Thanks for taking the time to read a little bit about my life. Thank you @colorchallenge for the brilliant idea! I really enjoyed partaking in today's challenge. I would love to build upon these ideas and work towards hosting my own photography challenges. Have any thoughts to share? Feedback to give? Don't hesitate to leave me a comment below! Have a great day 💙

Sort:  

@faceofbear that's such sad news to hear. You truly expressed the emotion you both felt. May you find strength in each other.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55