Black and White Photo Contest: Three Submissions [full post]

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I am participating in the black and white photo contest sponsored by @papa-pepper and hosted by @daveks. I shot all of these photos with my trusty Nikon D7100.

Nazaré, Portugal - February 28, 2016

bw-contest-1.jpg

Nestled within Portugal's rocky coast, Nazaré is a sleepy beach town most known for Garrett McNamara's record-setting surf. In February of 2016, my partner and I left the US on a year long trip around the world. Portugal was our first stop. It was here on this very beach we learned the grave news of Christy's beloved grandfather passing. I will never forget this day. An unexpected winter storm raged through the town. Her grandfather was a man of the sea and there is no doubt his presence was within that storm.


Everyday Hanoi

bw-contest-2.jpg

Much later in our travels, we found ourselves in Hanoi, Vietnam. Quite the opposite of Nazaré, Hanoi is a city of systematic chaos. This photo embodies the essence of life on Hanoi's streets. Look closely and you will discover all the fun details which make Vietnam so beautiful and unique.


Breaking Down Expectations

bw-contest-3.jpg

A quick Google search reveals the beauty Sapa, Vietnam has to offer. The terraced rice fields are incredible. Going into this trip, I had such high expectations of what to expect. What I didn't research was the proper time of year to visit. Having been in Southeast Asia, we had nothing but warm weather clothing. We were blindsided. Sapa was foggy, incredibly cold, and the harvest had already been completed for the year.

Not to be discouraged, we bought some knock-off North Face gear and embarked on a two day trekking adventure through the jungle and rice fields. We were led by Suen, our lamenting tour guide who had just lost his sister in law. It was on this trek that I learned to let go of all expectations. In doing so, I was able to appreciate the beauty of the situation around me. What a unique opportunity to see Sapa the way I did. What could have been a disaster led by expectation turned into a brilliant trip full of growth that was one of my most memorable experiences from our entire travel.


Thanks for taking the time to read my submissions. I would love to hear your opinion in the comments. Have something to share? Just let me know!

Sort:  

God these are remarkable! I've seen so many vibrant photos of Sapa, Vietnam before but I've never, ever seen it like this! Just wow! 👏🏼

I'd love to see you post more photos, you have an eye-catching style 😍

Thank you for your kind words 😋

I have big plans for more content here soon. Motivation from people like you keeps me inspired to produce more so thank you again

Congratulations @faceofbear! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Im new here at steemit :)
I hope we help each other follow me and ill follow you back . :)
More upvotes :)

NICE pics bro and and you have great perspective :o)

Like them all, but the first one is my favorite!

thanks! I really like the first one too 😋

that "Everyday Hanoi" is amazing! Great photo!

There really is no place on earth quite like Hanoi. Thank you!

Nice! I follow !
Have a look at my page, i have some interesting pictures :)

your photos are gorgeous!

Wow stunning photos! I look forward to seeing more of your work! Followed.

Thank you 😋
At a glance I see your account and it looks absolutely delicious. I will have to look further 😈


Together, let’s build a wonderful
💙 Steemit Community 💙
Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67467.65
ETH 3470.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71