What in a world do you want?

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I have this pretty Oxalis triangularis plant in a pot. I took some roots from my mum's big plant a few year ago and every since it (and me) is struggling.

At mum's it grows so amazing! All year round outside in the garden on rain and hot summer sun. It creates a bush of large, dark, purple leaves with lots of small flowers.

For me it hardly grows, blooms a bit in spring with just a few leaves. As soon as new leave grows, old one dies off. It looks like a miserable, wet puppy.

Oxalis triangularis 4.jpg

Anyone grows it? I tried to keep in shade, sunnier spot, water more or less and it's always the same story. Is it possible that it simply hates the weather here and it goes dormant (or at least tries to) in summer and in winter and the perfect weather time in Spring and Fall is simply to short to make it grow nice and big?

Oxalis Triangularis 3.jpg

I really like this one...

Oxalis triangularis flower 3.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/8, 1/400, ISO100)
Click on the image to view full screen!

»»-------------¤-------------««

Qurator 3.0 - UPDATE POST - Guidelines | Registration Details | Tier Changes

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

its so beautyfull post

Thank you :)

Haven’t grown that before but looks pretty healthy there. Maybe you just got a stubborn bunch on your hand. :/ beautiful shots. Happy growing :)

This was the time that I got a few flowers. Still not too many leaves.
Very stubborn indeed :/

Lovely images of these tiny oxalis flowers @ewkaw They are considered to be weeds in Australia but I still think they are very pretty.

There is Oxalis weed in Portugal too but it blooms yellow and has small, clover-like leaves. It just grows everywhere!

Beautiful photos. I have one in a pot that I set outside in the summer and bring in during the winter. A friend gave it to me almost 40 years ago!

Woowww... so you know it well.
Do you give it full sun? Or is it in a shade?

Full sun during the summer months and when I bring them indoors they get bright light from being near windows. The older one has green leaves and the purple one is about 20 years old. I keep them well watered in the summer, and cut back on watering during the winter months. They respond well when I fertilize them. Right now they are quite lush!

I dunno if my summer is not too hot for them. It looks like they went dormant. There is nothing growing...

Mine go dormant during the winter. It doing a post today with a photo of mine for you.

Yellow Oxalis is a weed in my garden and I am always pulling it out of my succulent pots. I don't know the pink one

The yellow one grow like crazy everywhere here too. Terrible (and pretty) weed.
This one I never saw in the wild. It a lot bigger and very dark leaves. I'll take a photo of them when they finally grow :p Super pretty.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by EwkaW from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26