The Variable damselfly

in #photography5 years ago

There is so many new things I learn with the photographs I take. Starting from the simple wild plants that grow around, lichens, mushrooms and finishing on insects and animals. Every time I try to find at least the name of what I just shot, where they live, what are their special tricks.

Today, as I wanted to post those pretty blue insects, I learned that those are Damselflies and not Dragonflies as I used to called them. There is so many types out there, I just thought they are one of the small ones. But there is actually difference between them. One of the things that will tell you what you just shoot are the wings and the way they sit on the body. Dragonflies will have them to the sides when they sit, Damselflies wings will fold along the body.

Tadaaam.. we all learned something new today :)

Variable damselfly (Coenagrion pulchellum)



Variable damselfly blue 4.jpg

This one seems to be common in Europe and this pretty blue one is a male. Of course they have to be more showy than females ;).
I found it in a small pond in a park in my hometown last summer. I went to shoot some frogs, got Damselflies instead :) Pretty cool!

Variable damselfly blue 1.jpg

Variable damselfly blue 3.jpg

Busted!

Variable damselfly blue 2.jpg


To show you the difference, here is a Dragonfly that I shot in the same pond on the same day. They both lived there together. See how much fatter it is and hoe the winds sit to the sides? Gorgeous beast!

dragonfly blue bokeh 1.jpg

That I shot here in Portugal at the bay. Smaller, but also wings indicate a Dragonfly.

dragonfly stick 5.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Tamron 70-300 mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

Nice photos of this dragonfly 🙏

Thank you! :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 15 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
!DERANGED
8

deranged You just received DERANGED @ewkaw Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

Hi @ewkaw I realize now that you live in Portugal :)
Take a look at @steemitportugal, a Portuguese Steem Community helping users in Portuguese language.
Cheers!

Yea I do, but I don't speak much :p
Thanks! I will look :)

:)
Cheers!

I love damselflies and dragonflies and your photos are beautiful! I especially love the last photo. Yay! You captured its face. Well done! Thanks for using #insectpub tag @ewkaw. : )

It was staring at me! Watching what I am doing.. this one was really cute :)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @rem-steem.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Cupcakes! Thank you :)

Hah! Why is a showy blue damselfly a male when it is called "damsel" which means a a "young unmarried female" 🙄 It's undercover!

Hahahaha :D maybe its because he wants to attract those :P

Ooohhhh, sneaky.... ;)

I'm always envious of dragonfly shots. I can't get them here, maybe our dragonflies are too paranoid, they never stay still

Maybe :) If everything tries to get and eat you you would be too :p

They are big predators themselves...

That too :)

Thanks for the explanation on the difference between the two. Although I don't think there's any damselflies around my part of the world - Southeast Asia. But will be on the look out for one anyhow.

They could be... but they are smaller and very fast, so easily to miss them.

Hi, @ewkaw!

You just got a 11.13% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80