You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The thorns also have their charm

in #photography6 years ago

Love the photo...and the caption!

My wife and I fell in love with the desert when we moved to Tucson. I had been increasingly ruing the degree to which modern society strives to dominate the natural world -- living and driving about in humidity controlled, temperature-controlled, weather-proof capsules. Cacti, on the other hand, humbly, but fiercely, stake out their thriving existence not by trying to master their climate, but by asserting their role within it. Wander about in the desert without awareness and they will serve up a punctuated reminder of their presence. Beware the fishhook pin-cushion whose spines will stab you on the way in and whose inward curving hooks shred your flesh as you instinctively draw away. The enormously diverse range of cacti and the impressive defensive measures they have evolved are refreshingly inspiring. It's as if nature is saying, not so fast human!

Sort:  

I loved your comment.
It also happens to me that when I see plants that grow in the least expected places I think that God is telling us that only he has control over the mitosas. Similarly, when I see that other plants are there simply decorating the environment seems that time stopped and tells us ..... "focus on what is really important."

I agree with you that man strives to control nature being that the control of all this is not from us but from God.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00