Bokeh of Soviet lens Jupiter-9

in #photography7 years ago

Several posts ago we spoke about the bokeh - the blurred background in the picture and the leader in the test was Jupiter-9 (85 mm). Today I want to show examples of the side of this lens on the open aperture 2.0.
The photos show a garland in the Grandfather Frost House. The lens is completely defocused.

I would not have thought that bokeh can be voluminous. Some kind of bubbles have turned out.

My specimen softed strongly on the open aperture, but people say that there are also more successful ones.
If you love the bokeh of Soviet lenses and you do not have money for unnecessarily expensive Helios-40, then Jupiter-9 will be an excellent option for shooting portraits and objects with an interesting volumetric and swirling bokeh.

Examples of portraits:

Sort:  

Soon, I will buy one.

Woww... like a million of bubbles floating ion the air.
I actually do want to get Helios one day. One day it will be mine :P

Really nice bokeh :)
I like the "contouring" of the halo made by the lights.

By the way, it's complicated to speak about "leader" in term of bokeh, because it's really specific to the taste of everyone. 100% subjective as it is only based on percetpion and preference :)

Great job.thanks for share.

I've only ever owned one Jupiter lens - the Jupiter 21M 200mm. I loved that lens and used it frequently during the 90s with my Zenit gear. Sadly, it was lost to a basement flood years ago, and was beyond repair by the time I recovered it (massive fungus damage).

As for the Helios 40, you may not beleive it but, I bought mine used at Izmaylovsky rynok for ~$80 USD in 1994 (or 1993?). I don't think I could afford to buy a replacement for it these days given how popular it has become. It still has some slight fungus damage from the same basement flood, but still produces wonderful photos.

this is fantastic bokeh here ! just unbelievable beautiful and smooth

Thanks for sharing :-) @evildeathcore I am following. Best of Luck !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63562.42
ETH 2649.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77