One of Those Days

in #photography7 years ago

those.jpg

Those days when nothing goes to plan and everything you try just does not work out, what ever you do.

I had a couple of ideas to shoot, and all day free to do so, but I just could not find the sweet spot where everything clicks. I changed my clothing, hair, makeup, the setting, lenses, everything you can think of and couldn't make things work in the way I wanted. You should have seen my apartment, a total mess after all this.

Working on something creative can sometimes be really hard when you have a vision but somehow it just doesn't translate to the camera. There have been times when I use hours and hours to shoot and have nothing to show for it. It's fucking depressing and makes me doubt everything I do. Then I'm grumpy (see below) for a while, until I get a new idea I really want to start creating. And hopefully succeed in. Maybe tomorrow. Or the day after that. Procrastinator for life.

I'm going to throw up in my mouth a little but here goes:

Don't give up.
Keep at it.
Work.
Learn from your mistakes.
Try again, and again, and again.
Believe in yourself.

Then again, even if you believe in yourself, you can still be an absolute failure :D

grumpy.jpg

Fellow artists of different fields, can you relate?

Sort:  

Still very nice

That first photo for some reason, i imagine you looking outside a window into a big future city, on a rainy day. Thinking to yourself its One of Those Days.

Now that you mentioned it, I can see it too. Cool!

Nice shots. Look upward and outward.

I think you just created without even realizing you created :)

That was kind of the whole point of this post ;)

Very well said ; and can absolutely relate. Feel like I've been going through a reevaluation period as an artist as of late ; posting less work and thinking about the directions I've been taking. Wondering if I'm handling it all wrong. Kudos to you for sharing something we all go through and struggle with; posts like this help the creative community to know they're not alone in those hard times. Many thanks.

Thank you for your nice comment :) For what it's worth, I checked out your paintings and I think you have a really unique and beautiful style.

Keep your head up. You have awesome kneecaps. Totally smexy. I hate when someone tries encouraging me after a fail. Just let me sit and steem (see what I did there?) a while, then I will come back and nip (there too) it in the bud.

I got my kneecaps from my mama! And thank you! I love me some puns :D

Yep. Absolutely. I can't even tell you the number of times I've had days like this. I have a quote on my wall that says, "when you can't create, you can work." Just put my fingers on the keyboard and type. If it sucks, it sucks. So what? Tomorrow always comes. The sun always rises. I'll still be here, and I'll still be working. If the Muse is out there, she's going to hear me, clacking away.

It's all I have.

I'll be following, and rooting for you.

I guess you might call this 'eve uncovered' unconvered ;) (I.e. real you, without the professional photo-shoot part? :) ) Still absolutely awesome :D

Well let me tell you, there is nothing professional in what I do :D But I'm glad you enjoyed it.

This works for me. Good "non-creativity". Makes you real. Still love the pictures. Model looks moody and sexy at the same time. Good look.

I felt like it would be good to show a little realness once in a while :)

Well, these are cliches for a reason...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62