Nikon D7200 versus iPhone 7 plus in Photography

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes I post random snapshots straight from my iPhone, and it's usually something fast I want to share on to go, or I'm too lazy to set up my real camera. The point of those pictures is not to be amazing pictures, but to share a little something fast. But I always get comments "omg these are so good, you are such a great photographer!", and I facepalm and wonder if you guys are blind if you think phone shots are as good as the ones I take with my Nikon.

Yesterday morning I took a few shots and decided to take a few comparison shots with my iPhone 7 plus, which supposedly has a very good camera. Obviously these are not exactly the same pictures, because getting the angle and same pose is quite difficult, but you get the point.

iPhone is alright for when you have good, even lighting, nice scenery or something like that, but when you have a higher contrast between the different areas in the image, that is where the iPhone camera fails. I always shoot in RAW format on my DLSR, so I can easily even out the parts on the image that might be blown out of too black.


Can you spot the difference!?


@Escapist is here with me and trying to help me get this out faster: " Just write: The other pictures are shit, and the other ones are not. Acknowledge the difference, thanks bye!"

Isn't she helpful!?

Sort:  

Love the gesture of this :

Did you just draw that in ten minutes!?

approximately...yes :)

That is so cool! I couldn't draw to save my life so I always admire people who can :)

Well, some draw some be their model :D

I'm gonna save this to my computer 🤗 Awesome work!

Thanks :D

Let me guess. Top left iphone. Top right Nikon. Bottom left nikon bottom Right iphone?

That should be very obvious for anyone with eyes :)

But, do I win the prize. I only have one good eye.

Phone cameras have been getting way better...but they're still a tiny little sensor that's just thrown on there because we take our phones everywhere. Would be nice for someone to come out with a REAL camera phone though.

They definite have been getting better and better and they are good for a lot of people who just want something easy and quite frankly, don't know any better 😝

For the price they charge, it's really not that good. A new iPhone costs as much as a really nice camera and yet the sensor is fucking tiny. They could fit something a little larger in there, have it be around as good as a normal digital camera. Of course then, because it raised the price a buck or two, they would have to charge like $300 more.

I don't actually mind the price, because I happily pay for a product that works for my needs and lasts in my use very well. The camera is not actually that important to me in a phone, because most of the time I have my real camera with me.

Well, of course, you think it's worth it. That's why you bought it. However, at the price point, although the camera is pretty good, they could definitely afford a larger sensor.

Of course, not everyone needs a good camera on their phone, but when people go out to the corner store with just some money and keys, they still have their phone, and it would be nice if it were actually as good as a digital camera, rather than just being good for a phone. Then, when you're just out on an errand or something, and you see something really cool, you can get an amazing shot, not just a pretty good one.

Eve, I'm sorry, but my eyes got stuck on your bottom and those killer purple panties.
I'm so bad.
steemsig.png

So so bad, concentrate on the matter in hand, which for once, is not the booty!

is this the most beautiful girl on steemit? i think so!!

Hair is tangled in the right one😄😄

Yes, exactly the point of this post, excellent detective work.....

Brilliant!
If I am not wrong, thenLeft side photograph of top and Right side photograph of bottom have been done by Nikon.

Here dslr wins i phone faild

So let me get this straight
The pics and the camera we mate?
Just look for the light
Where the bright is just right
It's obvious which is first rate

OH!! Have a different feel to

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72