How to Photograph the Moon?

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

muu.jpg

No, this is not a tutorial, and yes, the question mark in there on purpose.


This wonderful midnight scenery unfolded itself just as I was going to the sauna, and you know how I am, I had to abandon all else and go get my camera. Well, the scenery here is not as gorgeous as I saw it in real life. It is so hard to photograph the moon, together with the darker ground. I think it would be rather easy if I were to just zoom in on the moon itself, and only have to get that exposure right.

I can obviously do a little tweaking on RAW conversion, bring out some of the detail from the dark areas, but the quality sucks when I try to do it. It's obviously very underexposed. I can also overexpose the image, but then the same things happens on reverse. I also noticed that when I use a longer shutter speed, the starts are too fast and show movement, even in few seconds. It always surprises me how bright the moon actually is when you try to photograph it.

I shot this with the Nikon D7200 and the Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 @ 31mm, ISO 250, f/2 and 0,5sec. I also tried with higher iso and a bigger f stop, okay, I tried like a lot of different combos, but nothing satisfied me like it should have.

So many possibilities and so many problems!

Is blending together multiple exposures the only way to make a situation like this work?

Pros, give me some tips!

Ps. I should really go to sleep and stop gazing at the moon...

Sort:  

The Moon is awesome.I love photographing the moon.Last evening was awesome to take a few shots and yes it was It was a perfect full moon.
I don't mind the shadow figures the foreground can create while underexposed.I was able to get both details in the moon and in the foreground last night it was great.It was a wonderful golden hour.
So if the timing is right I believe you can get the shot close to right.

Ahh, that is a pretty good tip on trying to shoot earlier, just as the moon rises :)

Blending multiple exposures is easy (once you know how) and is the best way to overcome the limitations of the cameras dynamic range. Take 5 exposures at 1 stop intervals. Even if you are unsure about how to combine them later, you have 5 different exposures to choose from if you only want to use 1.

Yep, other than playing with shadows and making the foreground work in that way multiple exposures is probably the best option for it. That or expose for the middle and use layers + layer masks in the RAW file, but it's kind of the same as a multiple exposure anyway!

The best solution is to replace the moon with a friend mooning. Then you can get a really nice scenery photograph no matter the time of day.

You are so horrible! 😭😂

I'm doing my best.

Actually this could turn into a really great post, especially if the person mooning is bold enough to climb up in a tree.

"You can see the moon from between the branches"

That is a beautiful picture, very majestic that makes you appreciate the beauty of the night sky.

I used to take Moon photo, or sunset, with my old canon 1000 D + Fixed 50mm lens. The moon/sun looks too small in my photos :D

I’m with you, waiting for the pro to answer..

Pero a pesar de todo una muy buena foto ;D

Wow.
Excellent Photograph it is.
Very nice.

Happy steeming.

Hahahaha I thought it was some kind of tutorial lol.
good you have photographed excellently, although the clouds opaque the moon, your photo was excellent, I hope I will take pictures like this: D

I wonder if using the HDR option is the best approach? You’ll definitely need a tripod whichever method you choose but I suspect you were using one already.

It's a beauty, I congratulate you, it was truly an excellent strategy for the cameras to capture a large part of the images according to the proposed objective and especially that beautiful moon,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64149.44
ETH 3145.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53