House Sitting

in #photography6 years ago

lob1.jpg

Couple of days ago I said I was struggling with deciding what to do with this set of pictures because I was having a hard time with the colour balance. I listened to you guys and the community has decided they want to see both the coloured and black and white versions.

I'm posting these pictures first in black and white, and try to get the coloured versions done when I learn how to deal with Lightroom. Today is the first day I'm trying Lightroom and at the moment I'm very very lost with it. I know it can do a lot for me, I just have to learn how to work the damn thing.

I don't want to rush the colours versions and put together something half assed. So it might take quite a while until you get to see what I got.

lob2.jpg

lob3.jpg

lob4.jpg

lob5.jpg

lob6.jpg

I have a huge pot of dark roast coffee brewing and I'm gonna dedicate the evening to learning how to use Lightroom. And maybe do a little Steeming and chatting, like always.

Sort:  

You are beautiful and mysterious in a black and white context.

More than a good photo, what I see in these pictures is a strong independent woman with sense of style and class. You're one definition of "beauty". I hope to see more of your photos soon @eveuncovered :)

@eveuncovered I checked these your images over and over again to get an idea of its essence. I see a strong woman with an aspect of vitality, serenity, and class.

She seems at peace with the universe. And inside her mind is calmness.

Maybe I'm wrong, but that's what i could see.

I felt the same.
Also i would suggest @eveuncovered could play with shadow and highlights a little bit.

For the first time I see a good photo together with quality text! Good blog / photo! (as you prefer).
For now, I create blogs about my life and share early photos. But in plans like you have a photo shoot specially for Steemit.

I've heard so many good things about Lightroom... I think I opened it once, felt totally lost, got frustrated, and never opened it again. 😅 I really ought to give it another try... on a day when I have a little more patience. lol I hope you get it figured out before too long - I'd love to see the comparison of the b&w to color. That said, your b&w photos are always stunning. Do you do a lot of editing to achieve your aesthetic, or do you just do a bit of tweaking (brightness/contrast)?

HAha, sounds like the day I'm having over here😅 But I'm sure I can get the hang of it at some point.

My mentality with photos is that I want to get the picture as good as I can straight from the camera and then just do little tweaks☺️

That is typically how I've approached photos in the past, but then I see all these photographers doing crazy amounts of edits, and I feel like maybe I'm missing something. (haha Damn FOMO.)

Maybe we should try looking on YouTube or somewhere for tutorials?

I watched this video and learned A LOT! Now I have some clue what you can do in Lightroom, and I think I'm gonna like it when I learn more.

I think I'll probably follow you !

I have used Lightroom couple of times and I felt like it was too simple. I like using Photoshop because I can change anything I want from the picture. You'll get used to whatever program you use once you practice :)

Interesting! I used to use Photoshop, quite a while ago, so when I opened Lightroom I really had no clue what I was even looking for. lol Practice is definitely the only way to get comfortable with any program though, you're right.

Simple, no way 😂 But maybe we do quite different things, my main focus is enhancing what already is there.

I mean that there wasn't enough settings and things I could change in Lightroom. The way how the program worked in itself is a bit confusing though. I like focusing on one picture at a time which is why I prefer Photoshop :)

I think there is too much stuff that is distracting and annoying, have to keep pushing back all the adjustment and things I don't need at that moment. I always do a set of pictures that need to match each other, so that is where Lightroom could be better for me. I struggle with colours in the self portrait work, so that is my main focus on trying to learn Lightroom.

You are a pretty awesome chick! I just read a couple of your blogs. The first one I read was in reference to you becoming a full time Steemian. I have decided to follow you. Your intellect, and blog organization make you an attractive individual to follow, both figuratively, and literally. Excellent post. I love the photographs.

Awww, thank you so much for such a nice and ORIGINAL comments, always a pleasure when someone takes time out of their day to comment something other than "nice.thanks for sharing.follow me". And it never hurts to get genuine compliments.😏

Have a great day!

Absolutely! I look forward to your future posts @eveuncovered. You have a great day as well! 😉

There is definitely a style to your photographs, especially your self-portraits. They are soft and inviting with well cast shadows that are more like invitations to the viewer. When I see your portraits there is a sense of an earlier era, maybe 20's or 30's or 40's. It may be that the pictures are classy. It may be your sense of fashion or style. Whatever it is, it comes across as natural. It is an exciting prospect to see what you begin creating with your new software.
Keep up the great work. Your blog is one of the reasons I come back to Steem.

I always draw inspiration from those earlier, in my opinion, more beautiful times. I grew up in a house with some antique items from late 19th century and those have always inspired me. Dark wood, velvet, leather, mirrors, candles, old books, carefully curated items and signs of lives lived way before me. Of course there are also the old Hollywood movie stars that inspire my looks. If I need to dress up for some occasion and wear a modern dress, I feel like a fraud, but when I put on something that draws inspiration from old Hollywood, I feel right at home.

I hope I can keep you coming back and entertained :) Thanks for stopping by.

You look so natural and casual in your photos, it's easy to forget how much time and technical expertise goes into them.

Have fun learning your new toy!

Yeah, just casually hanging out 😝 Don't know about the expertise but a lot of time, trial and error.

you are looking gorgeous
and the LIghtroom is Just WOwww and
i love you heels it's beautiful @eveuncovered

your photography is awesome.......i like your every picture.......thanks for share photo.....keep it up...@eveuncovered

Beutifull girl...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86