Beam Me Up

in #photography5 years ago

beam.jpg

"Beam me up, Scotty!"

I know that is from a movie, but I don't know which one, what it means and I haven't seen it, some sci-fi probably. I know you are going to scold me for not seeing it 'cause it must be a classic because even I know the phrase, but there is only so much hours in the day and so much to watch, listen and read!

But anyways, the phrase seemed like a suiting title for these pictures, and it's a first thing that came to my mind. It's always a case of playing association when it comes to naming my pictures.

Shot with the Nikon D7200 and Sigma 50-100mm f/1.8.

beam1.jpg

beam2.jpg

Sort:  

the Phrase is sorta from Star Trek, the TV shows in the 1960's.
It's extremely famous, sorta.

Remember the line Play it Again Sam? Humphrey Bogart says it to Sam, the Piano player, in Casablanca. It's a 1940's black and white cinema classic.

Just like "Play it Again, Sam!" the line "Beam Me Up, Scotty" is never actually said.
It's one of those geeky movie/TV lines everyone knows. But was never actually said. The ship captain says 'Scotty, Beam is up.' Or, "scotty, two to up' or other versions, but never actually says the famous line.

Same with Bogie's character in Casablanca.
"Play it Sam," is as close as our dear love torn brooding patriot says!

Screw the TV and Movie trivia, these are beautiful images, of the snow and sun!

Star Trek :P I'm not really a fan, but know enough to know that if you are the guy wearing a different coloured t-shirt, you wont be getting beamed back up.

Is getting beamed a good thing? Where do you get to go, on an adventure? Heaven? What is the right colour to wear?

Yes, beamed to the planet and then back to the ship! The colours can change I think, just make sure yours matches everyone else's!

Gonna need a shirt that is reversible, might need to change camps every once in a while :P

I'm OK with girls changing camps from time to time :)

I knew you'd make that dirty!

It's from Star Wars Eve.

Don't believe me, I'm Australian! 🤣

Star Trek actually....Honest.

I only watched Start Wars, all of them, like a year ago, so I know it's not from that :D

Haha, ok you caught me out. It's Star Trek and whilst I've seen a few I don't really get into it. Relates to a teleportation device that could relocate ,beam up, a person from one place to the space ship...Scotty was the operator who did the button pushing.

So there you go. I've gone full-geek on you. 🙂

A very appropriate name, and I’m also not a fan but it is from Star Trek. The only other phrase I know from that school of sci-fi is “live long and prosper” - I hope you enjoy finding a photo to name with that phrase! Great photos.

Posted using Partiko iOS

hmm, I'll need something shiny for that phrase :)

For being that ignorant, I strongly suggest you to fix that by binging a season of retro 60s Captain Kirk Star Trek. Might also earn you a tribble or two :D

That seriously sounds like something quite torturous, I'll pass.

Such lovely views! Haha I sometimes repeat things too from movies I have no clue of lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62863.58
ETH 2464.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62