After Eight - Neo Noir Photography

in #photography5 years ago

cut3.jpg

I feel like I've found what I am the most comfortable creating in terms of self portraits, and what feels like ME, after trying and learning about different styles of photography for over ten years.

I think these pictures would classify as Neo Noir, but if I am wrong, you can argue me in the comment section. I absolutely adore the film noir style, but I bring a lot of modern elements into my photographs even when I'm going for that Film Noir look, so I think Neo Noir is more accurate to what I do. But either way, it doesn't really matter what the style is called.

If I'm not using natural light, I love using just one single light source, I feel like it suits me the best and makes the most dramatic look. I love hard light and the sharp shadows that come with it, I like black to be black and white to be white, with a little grey in between. My features are very angular, from cheekbones to my limbs, and I am quite moody, so Neo/Film Noir suits me like no other. The more I do these self portraits, the less I wanna do any other type, and I intend to get better and better at it.

Sometimes I try to do softer or more happy photos, but it feels so incredible fake and looks dull that it's just not for me. Even though I am not that pessimistic, fatalistic, or menacing (terms used by wikipedia describing film noir genre) in real life, it's those kind of aspects I like to play up in my self portraits, and it comes very naturally to me. The scorn lover, jealous wife, old Hollywood starlett, bounty hunter, lonely alcoholic detective, bad cop, those kinds of characters are what I like to take inspiration from to my self portrait, though they are not always visible to the viewer, and have a mix of real me in them.

Self portraits shot with the Fujifilm x100f.

cut5.jpg

cut2.jpg

cut1.jpg

cut6.jpg

cut4.jpg

Who do you think I am today?

Sort:  

You do this very well! I'm calling it Eve Noir.
By now, you should have SOMETHING named after you!

Thank you so very much! Hmm, if I could decide something being named after myself, I'd want a machine gun, but a self portrait style will work fine too :D

I pretty much like the emotion that transpires from these black and white photo which simply takes anyone into a magic dream ride. The sensual gestures simply makes you touch, connect and just enjoy the nature of the human kind. Beautiful and wonderful as if the time would stand still...

Thank you so much, those are some very nice words to describe my photographs, really appreciate it.

Still the queen in here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! I wonder if I should get myself a crown, but I’ve heard they are awfully uncomfortable.

I think today you are the jilted lover, with revenge on your mind

I think today you
Are the jilted lover, with
Revenge on your mind

                 - michaelevans


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Smoking's bad for you! But in all seriousness photo #3 is fantastic!
I'm not sure what Neo-Noir would be but I feel these fit in just fine with Film Noir. :)

Life is bad for you, could kill ya! But thank you very much! :)

Yeah, but we can't be 100% sure until it does!

Hello @eveuncovered, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hi, very nice of you to stop by with an upvote 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43