The Magnificence of Age - Photographic Appreciation of History

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Age is often not seen as beautiful.



We are accustomed to shiny new things....
the latest fashion....smooth skin.....
no dents, bumps or bruises.
As things wither, age or decay, their perceived beauty often wanes.

But there is an intrigue in things with history.
They have a story, a life, a flavor all their own.

I happen to REALLY LOVE things with history, with energy from all those who have lived, passed, paused, admired, neglected, touched, rejected, loved.

My life encompasses most tangible things that have history
as I'm inspired to reuse, recycle, upcycle, salvage and repurpose.

In honor of the Magnificence of Age:

Change is a Constant.



.
Finding appreciation for EVERything.

.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

.

A new face of decay.

.

New Found Beauty.

.

Intensity of Age.

.

Ancient Wisdom.

.

Layers of History.

.

A Grand Story to Tell.

I took these photos in an old building in Pottsville, Pennsylvania. The years drizzled over the surfaces until the metal rusted, the cheery paint peeled, the wood decayed, and the moss grew.

I tiptoed through the darkened halls, through the windows and over the roof,
experiencing a communion with its history and a
true appreciation for its years of service.

Drips of water,
splatters of paint,
cracks,
patches,
chips,
splinters and
patinas.



These photos have been enhanced with basic editing software.

































Sort:  

Another beautiful post!
Thanks for sharing your magnificence with Steemit!
I don't know why your photo isn't showing up in the thumbnail, kinda sucks for getting clicks...Seems like a bug on Steemits end as all the photos appear fine in the post it self...Hopefully someone can answer that and also FIX it!

It seems to have fixed itself!!! Thanks for the comment and your upvote. So grateful to share such magnificence with you @quinneker.

Beautiful images and I can really understand why you were in 'Photograph Heaven' @everlove ~ Once you are open to love and beauty, you see it everywhere.

The 'beauty' I'm often drawn to in an environment of decay and age is when nature has her way ~ The 'force' that can push through man-made concrete, bricks and rubble is beyond awesome.

So fun to see it, right? It's amazing what is all around us but goes unnoticed or disregarded as trash or no importance. Grateful to share this with you @allyispirit.

My pleasure indeed!

It's neat to see what you find to be beautiful. I would have never thought to take any of these phots. Great job !

Hahahahaha--I know!! I would say most people would not likely even notice these things, let alone get excited to take pictures of them. I was in photograph heaven in those old buildings. I will likely make more posts about that. Thanks for showing up here @rissakoirtyohann.

I love all the textures here.

Me too. Texture is one of my favorite parts of photography. Thanks for showing up here @thecryptofiend.

So beautiful and alive! Thank you

You're welcome. Thank you!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57178.77
ETH 3095.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12