Northern lights in Abisko, Sweden

in #photography6 years ago

Hi friends!

Here are some of the pictures I took in Abisko, Sweden a while ago. It was an absolutely amazing experience!
It felt like the sky was constantly moving like a magnetic field. I had never seen something like this before.

DSC_0862-001.jpg

It was like -20 degrees that day but I didn't care about the cold. The adrenaline kept me warm for some time.

DSC_0948.jpg

At one point I got tired and took a nap in the car. I asked my friend to wake me if something happens. Suddenly I got woken up by screams of my friend. "It's falling down on us...it's falling! :-)

I quickly rushed out and saw the beautiful lights falling like fireworks.

DSC_0977.jpg

I will never forget this experience!

Keep on creating!
/Johannes

Sort:  

These look really stunning, what kind of gear are you taking the photos with? You should check user @christianunger as he's quite talented photographer too, he just hasn't been that active lately.

Thank you! I have the Nikon 800D 24-70mm 2.8 Lens. Ok I check him out! :-)

Beautiful shots! Welcome to Steemit! :)

Thank you! So kind! :-)

Damn son. Sweden is a beautiful country, hopefully I can go there soon. Keep up the shots :)

Yes so beautiful! Thank you I will! :-)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-27T08:23:30
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 19.50/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Maybe look @ juliank he is a photographer with a daily contest with different subjects. Let me know if you can find it.

Ok I will thank you! :-)

I love seeing photos of the arouras. These are great as well!

If you aren't familiar with the science behind them you already are on the right track, they are caused by solar energy interacting with the magnetic field of the earth.

Always fascinating to see, I saw them far off in the distance many years ago.

A view like this is on my bucket list.

Thank you! Yes I know about the solar energy interacting with the magnetic field. It is so beautiful to watch! I can only recommend it. Sometimes you get lucky sometimes you don't!

It is addictive watching the lights.

Indeed it is! :-) I want to go again this winter!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I dream of them, even made a song called Northern Lights, but never seen one for real. One day

Stunning! I live in Canada and have had the opportunity to witness minor Northern lights. I was in awe the whole time. I found the noise scary too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94