How to photograph Butterflies Close Up!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians!

I photographed this butterfly a while ago in Germany.
The name is Small pearl-bordered fritillary (Boloria selene) if I'm not mistanken. Many people always ask me, how can you photograph the butterflies so close up, don't they fly away?

schmetterling.jpg

The secret is to go out early in the morning or late in the evening. In the evening the butterflies look for a sleeping place in the high grass and in the morning they are still sleeping. I go out in time and try to find a field where the wind is not so strong. That's very important because the wind makes all the pictures out of focus. I then search the field for butterflies and other insects. Mostly you will find something. And if you look in the evening and find butterflies, then you will mostly find them in the morning on the same place.

While they are asleep I build up my tripod and my camera and zoom in. The butterflies are sitting very still and I have all the time in the world to take my picture. It's awesome to see so close up. That has always fascinated me! And what makes the picture even more beautiful are all the dew drops in the morning. It looks like hundreds of diamonds.

schmetterling-001.jpg

With this post I would also like to take part in the #macrophotography contest from @photocontests / @juliank. This is my first contest so wish me luck! :-)

Have a beautiful day!

Keep on creating!
/Johannes R.

Sort:  

I dont think I've ever seen dew drops on a butterfly, amazing capture!

Wow 😁 better then mine.....Check out mine which I've posted recently

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! I will check out yours! :-)

That is some amazing clarity!

Wow these are just amazing. So much great detail very well done.

Thank you! So kind! :-)

aww the swedish Dragon hails Uppsala :D gud så mysigt ha ha Växsjö här och imorgon Ludvika ha ha;)
Älskar fukt dropparna du har fått in på vingarna, snygga väl saturerade macro foton, du kommer att göra bra ifrån dig här 🐲🐉💗

Tack så mycket! :-)

Guten Abend Johannes. Deine Aufnahme ist wirklich fantastisch und verdient einen 100% upvote von mir.
Du hast den braunfleckigen Perlmutterfalter (Boloria selene) fotografiert. Ein toller Falter, den man nicht an jeder Ecke findet. Wenn du mehr über ihn erfahren möchtest, kann ich dir nachfolgenden Link empfehlen:
http://www.lepiforum.de/lepiwiki.pl?Boloria_Selene

Grüße vom @faltermann 🦋 🐛

Vielen Dank @faltermann! Ja, leider wusste ich den Namen nicht! Konnte den im Internet nicht finden. Danke für den Link! :-)

Zumindest bei den Deutschen, oder auch teilweise europäischen Tagfaltern, kann ich gerne unterstützen. Es wäre ja auch schade, wenn solche fantastischen Aufnahmen mit falscher Bezeichnung im Netz verbleiben.

Ich freue mich auch jedesmal, wenn ich falsch liege und jemand korrigiert mich.

Ich wünsche dir einen angenehmen Start ins anstehende Wochenende.🦋

Danke! Habe es geändert. Dir auch ein schönes Wochenende.

This is simply amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83