Red-Bellied Woodpecker and Downy Woodpecker on Same Feeder (Original Photos)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago

Woodpeckers are aggressively possessive when it comes to feeding. I have seen the Red-bellied Woodpecker chase off other birds it knew was on the same feeder. On Sunday, 22 January 2017, I observed two female Downy Woodpeckers fight (by charging each other) when they were in the same tree near my feeders.

To see a Downy Woodpecker and a Red-bellied Woodpecker on the same feeder is a very rare sight. I did become a bit shutter-happy to click off photographs of these two birds sharing the same feeder. These photographs were taken Saturday, 21 January 2017 in eastern Nebraska.


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/500 sec; ISO 1000; 300mm

The two birds were spaced just right so they did not see each other.


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/500 sec; ISO 1000; 300mm

The Red-Bellied Woodpecker was more interested in finding that perfect peanut than looking to see if any other birds were sharing the same feeder.


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/500 sec; ISO 1000; 300mm

Red-Bellied Woodpeckers


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/5.6; 1/80 sec; ISO 400; 300mm

Eastern Nebraska is about as far west in the United States as the Red-Bellied Woodpecker's range extends.


Image Source

Downy Woodpeckers


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/500 sec; ISO 1000; 300mm

Downy Woodpeckers are common throughout much of the United States and Canada.


Image Source

More Information

More information about Red-Bellied Woodpeckers can be found at All About Birds and Audubon Guide to North American Birds.

More information about Downy Woodpeckers can be found at All About Birds and Audubon Guide to North American Birds.

Use of Photographs

I used the SteemIt icon in my photo credit to indicate these photographs were originally posted on SteemIt.
The photographs in this post are free to be used by anyone as long as the photo credit is left on the photograph.

Thank You!

If you like this post, you can upvote, follow, share, and re-steem this post. Thank you!

Sort:  

love woodpeckers, great shots

Thank you!

Thank you @etcmike for posting. Lovely photographs and commentary...appreciate the map.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.29 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 23 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you!

Here in the Pacific Northwest, I sure do miss seeing the Red-bellied Woodpeckers! I've been visiting my parents in Arkansas and have enjoyed seeing them at the bird feeders my dad keeps going. Downy's are nice and chipper birds, but the Red-bellies seem so gregarious. Nice photos! Keep those peanuts coming! ; )

Thank you!

I am well stocked with peanuts. I did notice that the birds did not eat as much as they normally do at my feeders this past week. It could be the warm temperatures.
One of my coworkers said he saw American Robins this past weekend. I have not seen any Robins yet, but usually the first Robins start showing up about now. They eat the berries that have ripened over the winter. If there are Robins around, they will find my berry trees.

I am looking forward to seeing a Red-headed Woodpecker again. That's when you know Spring is here to stay and summer is not to far off.

Steem on,
Mike

I saw a lot of Robins down in Arkansas - and the Eastern Bluebirds were checking out the nesting boxes. So spring is on its way. What sort of berries do you still have on your trees? It's good to hear you have Red-headed Woodpeckers, too. They are under some stress these days. We've got Acorn Woodpeckers around here, in Oregon.

I do not know the name of my ornamental berry tree. When I went to the tree nursery I told them I wanted an ornamental tree to plant next to my bird feeders. They recommended a berry tree that has bright orange berries in the fall that ripen through the winter for the Robins in the spring. I threw away the tree tags a long time ago, sorry.

I have never seen an Acorn Woodpecker. I had to google it :) It is an interesting woodpecker.

I saw my first Red-headed Woodpecker here last year. I also have Yellow-headed Blackbirds that fly through the area. They are another sign of spring too.

Steem on,
Mike

So many cool birds! I put Yellow-headed Blackbirds in that category! That's great you get to see them! Now that I think more about it, I have seen your berry tree in other photos and posts of yours. I'll have to go see what I can figure out, if anything. Happy birdwatching!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71