Cooper's Hawk (Original Photos)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago

The Cooper's Hawk's range is throughout much of the United States. The following pictures were taken in eastern Nebraska during January and February 2017.

This photograph is my favorite because the lighting was just right and the pose the hawk made.


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/400 sec; ISO 1250; 300mm

Since I have lived here the hawk has appeared just outside my windows several times. This particular time the hawk actually waited in the tree long enough for me to grab my camera.


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/500 sec; ISO 1000; 300mm

To get a positive identification of the hawk, I sent these pictures off to the Cornell Lab of Ornithology. I thought this may be a Sharp-Shinned Hawk, but they positively identified the hawk as a Cooper's Hawk.

Cooper's Hawk range in North and Central America:


Image Source

You can learn more about the Cooper's Hawk here from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology.

Use of Photographs

I used the SteemIt icon in my photo credit to indicate these photographs were originally posted on SteemIt.
The photographs in this post are free to be used by anyone as long as the photo credit is left on the photograph.

Thank You!

If you like this post, you can upvote, follow, share, and re-steem this post. Thank you!

Sort:  

Beautiful birds. Excellent photos and narrative. ☆☆☆☆☆😎

Thank you! Your comment is greatly appreciated.

SteemIt has inspired me to improve my photography skills.

Steem on,
Mike

Great captures m8, photos are really sharp and nice looking. Hope to see your work in the future

Thank you! I hope to continue :)

Steem on,
Mike

Nice photos! It's nice to get corroboration on that ID. I think I can tell them apart, but usually they are flashing by, rather than sitting in a place to get such clear photos. I bet your feeder activity slowed down a bit, lol. That is "Tier Two" of the bird feeder, lol!

Thank you!

Yes, the feeder activity does slow down when the feeders are within the line-of-sight of the hawk.

It is very hard to get a good picture of the hawk because you really have to sneak up on it. If it sees even a hint of human activity the hawk is gone.

Steem on,
Mike

Those hawks have good eyesight, that's for sure! I'm glad you are so sneaky! ; )

Eastern Nebraska... you are almost a neighbor, except I am in Eastern Iowa. I like to follow people who enjoy wildlife and nature, and you seem to do just that!

Howdy neighbor! :)

I do post on a wide range of topics. I am participating in Project Feederwatch this year and will share photos from there. I'm not sure whether I am going to make it out to see the Sandhill Crane migration this year, but will definitely try next year.

In addition to landscape photos and bird photos I will be posting on a variety of different topics soon. Please don't be discouraged, I will always find my way back to sharing nature photos.

Thanks for your comment!
Steem on,
Mike

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73