A Gathering of Grackles (Original Photo)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

When the cold weather of winter comes, the Common Grackles leave the area. They return when warm weather arrives. And they have returned again. Spring is coming!

Photograph taken 11 March 2017 in eastern Nebraska.

Common Grackle

During the weekend I observed a gathering of Common Grackles in my backyard. Here are a few perched on top of my bird feeder pole.

Wk18-08.JPG
Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/25 sec; ISO 100; 300mm

Range Map


Image Source

Calls and Sounds

Click here to go to the All About Birds website to listen to the calls and sounds of the Common Grackle.

Use of Photographs

I used the SteemIt icon in my photo credit to indicate these photographs were originally posted on SteemIt.
The photographs in this post are free to be used by anyone as long as the photo credit is left on the photograph.

Thank You!

If you like this post, you can upvote, follow, share, and re-steem this post. Thank you!

Sort:  

I apparently don't know bird species very well. I just always called those blackbirds.

I remember calling them blackbirds too. I wouldn't say that I know birds species very well. I have a book to look up the birds I don't recognize. I now recognize the common birds in my area.

Steem on,
Mike

ja jag gillar fina foto thank

Thank you!!

Steem on,
Mike

pretty Birds..good Job Mike :)

Thank you very much. And thank you for your support!

Steem on,
Mike

You sure captured how spectacular Common Grackles can be, with their iridescent heads. Wow! I wonder what they were all looking at, with their heads pointed up like that, lol. Happy spring -- the signs are adding up, alright!

With their heads pointed up, every now and then, they would go through this motion that made it look like they were looking for a mate. Not entirely sure, but that is what it looked like.

Thanks!!!
Have a great day,
Steem on,
Mike

That could really be what was going on, or they were starting some territorial behavior. There's a lot of competition there on that avian dancefloor! ; )

The Common Grackles were hanging around with a flock of Red-Winged Blackbirds. It is definitely a way to distinguish themselves from the Red-Winged Blackbirds.

Many people around here confuse the Common Grackles with European Starlings. The European Starlings were introduced to this country where as the Common Grackles are native birds. The European Starlings' bad reputation tends to also be attributed to the Common Grackles. I try to educate people about the difference whenever I can.

Steem on,
Mike

That's so interesting. I think of Starlings and Grackles so differently. Starlings are so stubby and chubby. Grackles seem, to me, to be more attentive to what's going on. The starlings rely on their big gang for safety. Good for you on educating people about the birds! They need all the help they can get! Peanuts included, lol! ; )

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.91 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56523.53
ETH 2982.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15