Never too cold for ice cream

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Today the hubs and I ventured about an hour north of us to meet up with his family and catch up. We stopped for lunch in Venice FL, walked the pier, then wandered through some little shops in the quaint downtown area.

I've been to this part of Florida once before, back when life was much more complicated but my work was simpler. Back then I was an EMT-trained ER tech that had just transferred departments to PACU/Preop, when the director of Radiology approached me offering to train me to replace their one and only EEG tech. As a pre-professional hopeful, I jumped at the opportunity.

My OTJ training started by sending me away to Venice FL for an immersive 1 week at their hospital, before shadowing the very experienced EEG tech back in town at another hospital. Normally people do 1-2yr certificate programs in this field. I was chosen most likely only because I was ambitious and willing, and into working insane amounts of overtime back then.

I was rushed through training, bc when someone gives 2 weeks notice, you have to move fast. But it was totally worth it. A few days ago at work, I was able to refer back to my EEG days, to reassure a parent that her kid's questionable seizure earlier in the day could still be detected on EEG so much later if thats what it was, even though she seemed to now be 100% normal. I knew this, because I had seen it before in the spikes on the screen as a young patient talked to me animatedly about his life and his work, just ~12 hours after he had suddenly collapsed into a grand mal seizure for the first time in his life. Medicine and its technology can be so fascinating. But I digress...

Today in Venice, about 5 years later, not much has changed, or at least not as much as I have.

But there is this cute little local ice cream shop we tried out. Friendly staff, variety between fresh on-site made ice cream or yogurt. Great atmosphere. Colorfully sprinkled waffle cones made fresh there not long before we arrived, the aroma still floating in the air, tantalizing my tastebuds, taunting my diet-minded mind.
IMG_5653.JPG

I gave in to my sweet tooth and indulged in a small, choosing the "Cookie Monster" flavor, BLUE ice cream with oreos and chips ahoy 😋😋 just cuz it was cute and tasted good when sampled.
IMG_5651.JPG
Worth every sweet calorie. And not at all a weird thing to do on a rare cold Florida day. Venice Avenue Creamery
IMG_5655.JPG

But, I should note, their ice cream could not compare to my favorite local mom&pop &daughter shop back home.
Cape Creamery #1 forever !!!!!!! 🍨

Sort:  

I need some ice cream in my life!!

I think we need a Creamery date one of these days. Maybe worth indulging after Zumba 🤔

I love indulging,,, when it's ice cream or pizza

Or both!! 😬

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68874.67
ETH 3743.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72