Warning, graphic photos: Bullfight, Plaza De Toros – Monterrey, Mexico.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Several years ago on one of my business trips to Mexico, a client “insisted” I join him in attending a bullfight at the Plaza De Toros in Monterrey, Mexico.   

Given the risk of offending my host and jeopardizing a long-standing business relationship, I was in no position to decline the invitation. 

As explained by my client, the aesthetic of bullfighting is based on the interaction of the man and the bull. Supporters of bullfighting regard it as a deeply ingrained, integral part of their national culture.   

Bullfighting has generated controversy in many parts of the world, including Spain, Portugal, Peru, Mexico, and Ecuador. Enthusiasts argue that it is a cultural tradition while animal rights advocates consider it a blood sport that tortures both bulls and horses.  

 


Many years have passed since that eventful day. The event remains tethered to my consciousness. In an attempt to reconcile what I witnessed I occasionally pull the photographs out of my desk drawer and reflect on the captured moments.

I’ve come to the understanding that the beastly ritual I observed on that sunny Monterrey afternoon is a transformation of the human experience; an illustrative reckoning of sorts – about our human psyche; about the depths of our fears, courage, brutality, and cowardice. It’s all about the human condition. And our attempts, however ill-conceived, to make sense of it all.   

The reality is that being the apex predator in in the animal kingdom gives us humans the license in unpardonable ways to justify our existence through animalistic ceremonial decree. I’m not saying it is right. I’m just saying it is anthropological theater. The ring. The bull. The Matador. The spectators. It’s about observing life and death by imperfect people, in an imperfect world.   

It’s maddeningly complex. But so is mortality and morality – and everything in-between.  


Given the cultural diversity of the Steemit community, I’d be interested in knowing what you think and feel about this provocative tradition.   


Disclaimer: I don’t profess to be a professional photographer (lol). I just happened to have packed my old Cannon Elf camera on this particular trip. Excuse the quality of the photos. I intended to demonstrate how rank amateurs, can on occasion, capture a glimpse into our humanity – or lack of it.  


  __________________________________________________________________ 

I’m an author, blogger and serial entrepreneur. I write about culture, politics, business, art, money, and all things philosophical. __________________________________________________________________  

Kindly up-vote, share and comment. Peace!  

Follow me https://steemit.com/@escapingculture  

Follow me https://mestizoblog.com 



Sort:  

What a great depiction of a cultural experience. I feel as if I was there!

It's perfect!

Lovely photos

Hello, Thank you for sharing your experience, I'm a traveler as a photographer, I love your work, Hope we can be good mates in steemit as followers.

I love your work. you left me in a good mood!!!

I'm really interested in photography, like every other human being.

Success comes to those who dedicate everything to their passion in life. To be successful, it is also very important to be humble and never let fame or money travel to your head.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85