Walking Towards The Sun

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

f495f9b1-eb77-455a-b58d-9bb6b9e303c9.jpeg


With Winter Solstice now behind us, we’re gaining a few minutes of daylight per day.

Minnesota Winters aren't easy to get through, and seem to be getting more difficult with every birthday. We could easily have four (or more) months of cold weather left and a little more daylight provides a much needed boost in the mood. Hope is a very powerful elixir. : )

Attached are a few shots taken yesterday during my walks with our beagle, Amstel.

Hopefully it'll be an early spring this year. To get a jump start on things we'll be planning our warm weather getaway for 2019. A week of sun and sand will be exactly what we need to get through this long, cold winter.

I have a feeling that 2019 will prove to be an epic year. Cryptocurrency is forecasted to recover and we're going to have the chance to introduce HardFork to the world. We are truly blessed beyond measure.

An unrelated "aside"...Steemworld is showing my Rep Rating will be changing to 76 soon. This will be a valid reason to celebrate. I think I've been at a 75 Rep rating for over a year now!

I hope you all had a great Holiday with your families!

~Eric


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Gorgeous photography Eric, everything looks as pretty as a picture! But I can imagine the cold must get to one, don't think I could survive! We never have snow in Durban BUT we do have incredible heat and humidity in summer, like today, was absolutely unbearable! But a thunderstorm and rain at the moment bringing such relief!
Gosh so it must get harder increasing one's rep the higher it goes!

Thank you, @lizelle! I'm sure it was like heaven when the heat and humidity broke. Surviving Minnesota winters takes a lot of self-care, especially as we get older. I've found that regular workouts help keep the mood stabilized, I also drink more caffeine. Being able to get away someplace we can float in the warm ocean for a week helps too. For the past few years we've taken a break from the cold in St. Thomas (USVI). I've have heard climbing up the "Rep Score mountain" gets tougher the higher you get.

Oh it was like heaven! The weather's been kind here the past few days, but very soon we'll have no reprieve from the humidity & heat! My nephew studied in North Dakota, a massive drop in temp compared to Durban, told me he did not have snow boots when he first got there and his feet froze up! He now lives in Bloomington, Minnesota, enjoys his new life, he's a pilot so is seeing the world!

Oh, North Dakota is bru-tal. It's even more harsh than where we are. Learning to dress for the weather is crucial in this climate. Bloomington is only 15 minutes from where we live, we're practically neighbors!

Wow that's amazing! He's moving to Farmington in March or April, they're building a house and it is closer to the airport.

It sure is...what a small world! We live in the Cathedral Hill neighborhood of St. Paul, right by the cathedral.

I must tell my nephew when we chat again, a small world indeed:)

@ericvancewalton thanks for the gorgeous shots and it feels cold just looking at them.

Yes, forward thinking to get through the winter works for me.

Thanks for dropping by @rebeccabe and I hope you and your family had a great Christmas!

Yes, we are happy and at peace. It is cold here now. I am looking forward to warmer weather.

Glad to hear it! We have sun and double digit temps today so we're happy. It's hard to believe how warm 29 degrees can feel when it's been in the single digits for a few days. Happy New Year, my friend!

You got that right. lol

it's crazily cold here in the morning and extremely dry, despite the fact that we are in the western & southern part of the Country. How much more those in the desert north.

Things get dusty these days here.

You pictures are beautiful, I must say. Enjoy the beautiful sun.

Thanks @botefarm! How cold does it get where you live?

@ericvancewalton, After exploring these pictures, i want to say that it's reflecting as view of different planet because it's so natural and those lights are making an aspect of beautiful world. Thank you so much for sharing these pictures with us. Stay blessed. 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

It's my pleasure to share @chireerocks! Thanks for your comment.

Welcome and have a great time ahead. 🙂

75 rep is epic but 76... unobtainable...

Posted using Partiko Android

Amazing photography in this post, absolutely gorgeous. Let's see you over on Whaleshares soon.

Oh yes @ericvancewalton, very beautiful photos and this place looks amazing to them. Now, of course, it’s winter and I’m also waiting for warming on the street, and in crypto, I think it’s not much time left to wait!

Beautiful photos. Feels festive mood. Good idea to go to warm countries during the winter.

Cold weather is very long in your country . I am also hope next year will be good year for crypto .

Incredible photos, but quite cold 😆 . I hope that the sun arrives soon and you have a prosperous new year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61567.88
ETH 3447.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50