Endicott Arm and Dawes Glacier in Alaska

in #photography7 years ago

I wanted to post these for a couple reasons, (1) to share the natural beauty of the Endicott Arm and Dawes Glacier in Alaska (USA), and (2) to see if anyone has tips for nature or wildlife photography. I'm obviously an amateur, but that just means I have the most to gain, right! That's my mindset anyway. I took these from a cruise ship, so it's not like I had the ability to swim up to seals and stand on icebergs or anything. I'm using a Canon T5i with kit 300mm lens nothing fancy.

This first one is my favorite photo from the entire trip, I actually printed it off and it's hanging in my living room. I like that the sun came out just enough to give a natural highlight to the front of the glacier.

IMG_9396.jpg

I have a few seal shots, but this one is my favorite because he/she is actually looking at the camera, and the iceberg isn't covered in shit and piss - for real though.

IMG_9349.jpg

I love the rocks in this one, so I made it my desktop wallpaper at work. The whole time I kept thinking to myself how the rocks look like the fake rocks in a zoo, and then realized maybe the fake rocks in a zoo actually look spot on because they look like this.

IMG_9300.jpg

While I was taking pictures, I realized the most interesting photos had layers to them to show depth. This one turned out pretty good because it at least has two layers, and as the ship was moving I had to keep snapping away because I wasn't really in control of my perspective.

IMG_9274.jpg

Along the sides of the fjord, strips of bright white waterfalls cut through the trees. It seemed like an endless supply of fresh melted snow pouring into the waterway. I was lucky enough to catch an iceberg in this photo to add some foreground interest.

IMG_9247.jpg

Is this real life? Windex-colored icebergs the size of school busses were just chillin (ha!) in the fjord as we passed by. Again, it's nice to find one that isn't covered in seal piss. I really like this photo, but I didn't get anything else in the shot for a size reference, so it's kinda hard to tell.

IMG_9187.jpg

That's all for now you guys, give me feedback if you'd like, tell me about cruises you've went on, recommend a cruise I should go on, or have your comment bot give me a shoutout lol. Later!

My photos are, and will always be available under Creative Commons licenses. Suggested Attribution: Image by Eric Teske (CC BY-NC 3.0)

I always feel weird writing that, it makes me feel like I have an inflated ego, like I think I'm hot shit that people would want to use my photos for anything. Anyway, I'd rather be up front with my permission than to have people steal them or worry about offending me.

Creative Commons License
This work by Eric Teske is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.

Sort:  

All the photos are really good

Thank you! :)

beautiful! i have followed you and you can follow me back, i also keep posting this type of stuff.

Wow!! What a beautiful place!

Hey Jason, what is color challenge? How do you know what color is what day? Is it always the same?

It is a nice photo!
I really want to go and see!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46