You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Frozen Fog in Color

in #photography6 years ago

Having Finnish ancestry but little to no current connection with finland, I appreciate your photos and the tibits about Finland I can read behind the lines. Thank You. PS-the view of the frosty forest are very similar to the winter in Northern Minnesota, but we are probably colder due to continental air. No wonder this place is full of Finns and a nearby town is even called Finland, and even near where the legend of St. Urho was invented. Look it up ;)

Sort:  

Oh hello there long lost Finn, I see you have a Finnish surname. Is there anything in particular you'd like to see or hear about Finland and/or Finnish people? :)

A lot of Finns moved to North America in the 1900s in search of a better life, you think they found it? Jesus, I hate the winter near the coast, like in Helsinki, it is so fucking cold even if it's only near sub zero temperatures!

I need to google St. Urho, never heard of that.

The culture and smaller details of its history are some of the harder things for me to pick up, although nature and anything else related to Finland are in my interest.

My grandfather's parents and oldest sibling were in the wave that came to the U.S before WWI, but he was born in the U.S. I dont know how there faired under the great depression, but I would guess they were pretty happy with the life they found, and our latter generations are not doing half bad either. I actually think Finns can do well wherever they are and we measure our own success. Thanks for replying, and best wishes.

Are you familiar with the Finnish Nightmares, it is something that might help you understand Finnish culture in a very real and day to day basis, if you want to :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40