SH-BOOM! Being a Tourist in ones own Town - Vintage Feelings

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

IMG_1202.jpg

Today I was on the road in my town.

I was on the hunt for certain things. I couldn't really find any of them. First I visited the flea market, which was in the process of being closed down, and then the shopping hall, where I got into conversation with a young lady from the tailor's, to whom I suggested to take some products into the display, which would cover the small tailor's needs.

Then I stepped into a hairdresser's salon because I couldn't find any classic hairpins in the usual shops and talked to the hairdresser and his customer who gave me a good tip where to find them. Next, like hundreds of times before, I passed a building I had never paid attention to before. A hotel! It's really ugly from the outside, but when I took a look inside, I thought: Hello! Did I end up in the 50s?

Here is a selection of the images I was able to create. I was genuinely enchanted and the woman at the reception announced - not without pride - that this hotel was one of the last remaining owner-managed houses in Hamburg. I was lucky, the lobby was almost empty. But see for yourself.

IMG_1164.jpg

Here you stand right after coming in. The reception is on my right.

"The 1950s," I read here, "were the decade of the Doo Wop era.

The term "Doo-Wop" was used to describe a US-American vocal arrangement suitable for pop and rock, for which the contrast between bass and falsetto voices was typical. One of the countless doo-wop formations was The Chords, who experienced their one-hit wonder with "Sh-Boom" in 1954."
So here are the lyrics, which really don't have any depth. Or have they? ;-)

Life could be a dream Life could be a dream Boom ba-doh, ba-doo ba-doodle-ay (sh-boom)

Life could be a dream
If I could take you up in paradise up above (sh-boom)
If you would tell me I'm the only one that you love
Life could be a dream sweetheart
(Hello hello again, sh-boom and hopin' we'll meet again)
Boom ba-doh, ba-doo ba-doodle-ay (sh-boom)
Boom ba-doh, ba-doo ba-doodle-ay (sh-boom)

Oh, life could be a dream (sh-boom)
If only all my precious plans would come true (sh-boom)
If you would let me spend my whole life lovin' you
Life could be a dream sweetheart

Every time I look at you
Something is on my mind (dat-dat-dat-dat-dat-duh)
If you do what I want you to
Baby, we'd be so fine

Oh, life could be a dream (sh-boom)
If I could take you up in paradise up above (sh-boom)
If you would tell me I'm the only one that you love
Life could be a dream sweetheart

(Hello hello again, sh-boom and hopin' we'll meet again) boom sh-boom
Hey nonny ding dong, alang alang alang (sh-boom)
Ba-doh, ba-doo ba-doodle-ay
Life could be a dream
Life could be a dream, sweetheart

7 times: Dee-oody-ooh, sh-boom, sh-boom

Life could be a dream, sh-boom
If I could take you up in paradise up above
Sh-boom if you would tell me I'm the only one that you love
Life could be a dream sweetheart

(Hello hello again, sh-boom and hopin' we'll meet again) boom sh-boom
Hey nonny ding dong, alang alang alang (sh-boom)
Ba-doh, ba-doo ba-doodle-ay
Life could be a dream
Life could be a dream
Dee-oody-ooh, sh-boom, sh-boom

While I took the photos, I wondered who had already visited this hotel.

I simply forgot to ask, because the photography took me so much time. I remembered films from my childhood, those with Grace Kelly and Doris Day, of whom I didn't know that she died recently (!) at the age of 98. I think it was in May? I had to think of petticoat dresses and pumps and the smell in the hotel reminded me a little of the past, at least that's what I imagined.

A young man was lounging on one of the comfortable sofas and two pretty young women were sitting in another corner. A couple, not older than their early twenties, played Rummicub in front of the window at the table, a game where you have to form rows of numbers, similar to the Rommee card game.

I admired the curved lines everywhere. You find them on the ceiling, in the shape of the S-shaped bar, in the elegant curves of the seats, all still original and beautifully preserved.

I would have liked to have a drink with someone.

Usually I am not showing present pictures but recently I am getting into Vintage fashion and hairstyles and after having a shower I tried out to work on something new with my hair (a couple of weeks ago) and came out with that result.

I fell in love with Evelyn Woods, a seamstress whom I found on youtube. She is adorable and very skilled. When she is reporting from her thrift-store adventures, I am all hers.

But the best is her advice how to refashion old clothes into new and wearable lovely skirts and blouses in the styles of past eras. I am far from handling the garments and sewing-machine in the way she does. But recently I took up a sewing course and will enhance my skills in that matter.

What a cosy place to have a chat.

The key box of a hotel reception has something of its own.

Anyone who comes to a city as a stranger experiences the moment of excitement when he walks through the door of his accommodation and receives his room key. What awaits him? On which floor must he go, how will the room appear, how will it feel to spend the night in a strange bed?

The slight smell of aged furniture in hotels that have long been part of the city is not everyone's cup of tea, but I like it. The rooms have many stories that, if they had mouths, they could tell.

Everything is already breathing out events and still to be experienced. The weight of the key, that desire to feel at home, yet to enjoy the alien details, the first steps you take when you enter a hotel room.

What are your first moves and actions when you enter a hotel room?

I make myself at home and first put my personal things on the night desk, the boards and the bathroom. I spray some of my perfume in the air and if I have, put a book on the bed and look into the mini bar. Not buying anything, though. Nothing fancy.


And here is lovely Evelyn Woods with one of her excellent presented videos on youtube.


I made two blog posts today! Now I am really tired and go to bed. Bye, until next time. I hope you enjoyed this little excursion into the past.


Photographs: erh.germany

Sort:  

Lovely, lovely, lovely trip to the past! I got so excited looking at the amazing pictures and your enthusiasm kept me reading and reading 'til the very end of it. Too bad such places are dying, I sometimes wonder whether my kids in 20 or 30 years from now will see any physical "evidence" of retro eras...One must never forget humanity's timeline goes a lot deeper in the past.

By the way, yoir hair is really cute that way, you look like you're ready to swing!

It was a pleasure reading this Erika!
Lots of love from burning hot Greece! 🤗

Oh, I'm so glad you came to see me! Thank you. I would love to go swing dancing with my man, but unfortunately we do not have this passion of dancing in common.

Yes, it's a bit of a pity that the owner-operated companies are becoming fewer and fewer. They have something special that no franchise can really fulfill. There is a second hand shop that is really so charming and skillfully run by a woman who not only has a good and aesthetic eye, but is also very enterprising and knows what her customers like. With the many things that people have in their homes, of course a lot is bought and sold among each other, but that's not the same as visiting a physical place that's meant to be a shop to browse and buy, not just a necessity.

HaHa! Also our time will one day be retro. I remember that my sister, who is older than me, never understood my enthusiasm for the 70s. For me it was retro, for her it was the fashion of her own time. She wouldn't want to go back there, just as I find the fashion of the 80s and 90s simply terrible. Probably because, firstly, I don't fit into such things anymore and one doesn't like to drink cold coffee.

Here the weather changed from burning hot to chilling cold. Weird. ...

Greetings to you!

I often find myself wondering what it'd feel like if I found a time machine and travelled back in time to America in the early 1950s. I mean, if I arrived back there in modern clothes people would keep staring at me thinking what in the heck am I wearing😂. My phone wouldn't work. And most importantly, I wouldn't even know what to do! But I think I would still like to go if something like that was possible because I enjoy the aesthetic of that era. The songs, the cars, the movies, all of that. Grace Kelly whom you have mentioned was indeed a great actress! But alas that is only possible in the realm of dreams.

Very interesting post, as usual. Keep up the great work! Much love!

True, climbing out of a time machine into the time of that era would certainly have produced strange glances. Which reminds me that fashion today has become so diverse and varied that in the metropolises at least no one looks at someone ostentatiously when one falls out of the frame. At most your own family or friends, if you suddenly change your style.

I think the lightness and carelessness that we know from the films and yet also from the quite naive songs, hides a little that there were always dark shadows beside the atmosphere of optimism. As actually at all times. At that time there was a terrible fear of the atomic bomb. Today it's climate change. Television was also quite a new thing in the 50s.

True, the cars were really beautiful. There were cars in red! Or turquoise! And also there the beautiful curves and lines. Simply a pleasure. Today we drive a car with a bad conscience. Rightly, one must unfortunately say.

But to dream a little now and then and to bring the highlights of past times into consciousness, is simply a nice occupation, which provides me with great satisfaction. It's simply fun.

Have a beautiful Sunday!

Although the old timey movies and songs make me long to be in that 1950-esque era, you are right to say that there was indeed some darkness in that era too. I think that the songs and the movies do tend to sugarcoat things and make that era seem like something right out of your dreams. That's nice to imagine, sure, but in practicality, umm, I don't know to be honest with you.

I think that it is a healthy habit to imagine and dream about things, provides you with a great escape when you're in need of one!

That seems to be an interesting story from a readers perspective about the hotel and its age. The Black and White tone you used makes a perfect fit for the time frame of the story. With the link you provided it was easy to understand the plot behind it.

And also the lines of the songs are bringing some nostalgic feelings too. From the previous Post and this one it seems you have an architectural eye or a knack of finding special details, the reason you were noticed the curves on ceiling etc, may be it was interior designers purposefully made i

Good.to see your latest photo with the hair clip and new design.

Have a good day Maam. I will write in detail about the business later today!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. Yes, I thought black and white will fit in very well to that era and create a better illusion, which was my intention.

The curves and swings and soft shapes I like much more in buildings as hard edges. That also tells something about my psyche, doesn't it? Laughter. But buildings and constructions are much quicker done if one uses squares and rectangles. More efficient and less headaches. But who wants it quick and easy? Not the artist, I guess. Only the business types. But I don't want to judge. Its worthless. Putting furniture into a round room is quite a challenge. You certainly heard of Buckminster Fuller? His design was new and exciting at his time and inspired many people throughout the world. I guess some of the hotels design might be a copy of his thoughts.

You are exactly speaking like an interior designer with so much calibre. As you said there is no fun in making a match box like buildings, it need special skills and vision to make those architecturally amazing skills. I did not came across about Buckminster Fuller as I was into civil Engineering, not architecture but I googled to know little about him. And he is great from the news I read.

But I was lucky to be associated with some building across few countries to understand exactly what you meant. Many of my project was 5 start hotels that includes an iconic 7 start hotel (one of a rare kind) in Abudhabi and other one is TAJ Hotel, Mumbai which was also unique (You must be aware about a terrorist attack in India around a decade back) it was in that hotel some causalities happened.

So those curves, shapes and etc are makes a building beautiful including the design of interiors, So despite being an Engineer I have high regard and respect for Architetects and interior designers.

Thanks for the response and Have a nice day..

Ah, how interesting, engineers certainly also need to know something about statics, connections and materials. My man is a graduated architect and over the years I have picked up a lot of him, especially the love for curved lines and unusual facades such as interiors. Also for clay buildings. The buildings in Timbuktu are very beautiful and also functional and suitable for the local climate.

Architecture is probably the strongest expression of a society and how cities are conceived and built shows the psyche of the people living there. Much of the structure built around us influences us in many ways, but we don't always notice it. I recently tried to imagine what it would be like if all tarred streets were full of trees instead of smooth surfaces. But when we went on a weekend trip the other day, I said to my man: "Actually, roads are not only useful to move around, if they didn't exist, we wouldn't have any boundaries of the big monoculture fields and no trees, because a lot of federal roads here in Germany are lined with avenues". I know it's not quite logical, but it was an interesting thought.

No, I didn't hear anything about the attack in India. I don't watch news. And if it's really important, people will tell you anyway. I don't read current newspapers either. But I like high quality business magazines like "brandeins". Not sure if the website is available in English. Otherwise have a look.

You have been involved in building hotels? What was your most impressive experience or were there special breakdowns or other events and people that impressed you in this context?

Ok, now it is no wonder to me why you are so authoritatively speaks about buildings and architectuare. Your man might had influenced you a lot, but it is only possible when there is a calibre to understand and visualize the things in the way that is to be considered.

From the way you talk about Architecture, its feautures and influences you could possibly write some articles I think. You are exactly true, Architecture plays a predominant role in shaping a city's culture or how it can be the address that may have a long lasting impression to the world.

That was a funny observation about trees and roads, in fact only some serious brain could think about such kind of imagination most probably.

That attack which I mentioned was happend in 2009 and it was a globally discussed terror strike.

Had been to India ever? Make a visit with family. It would be worth, you could be able to see some Indian culture, some old buildings and forts which you could feel some interesting including the Taj Mahal.

Cheers, Have a nice day.

Yes, buildings are the public relations, the expressions which speak for themselves as well as the intentions of what decision makers want to broadcast into the world. A building says: Look at me, here I am and I stand for a particular message. As nobody can walk along and oversee it. All emperors of the past have used that tool to demonstrate power. For both, the bad and the good. I see that you see that, too.

I may sound merciless but terror strikes I am unwilling to pay my attention to, as they are an extreme form of wanting attention and pointed at the established or hated power structures by hurting the innocent. People are caught by them too emotionally and then make decisions out of fear or revenge. That is wrong and pays into what extremists are up to.

But of course, if you were near such an incident you might think differently.

I have never been to India. I decided about eight years ago not to take a plane again. It's actually a personal thing, my own contribution to protect the environment but I do not judge others who use air crafts. Everyone must know what he does. Theoretically I could visit India by ship or by train. But I guess that would be far too expensive and it would be a decision well thought through and nothing like a vacation just for fun and little money. Measured by German standards, I am a poor earner. But I don't feel poor. Cause my environment is rich and there is so much one can live off for years and years before everything is used up and worn out.

Taj Mahal is an impressive and beautiful building. I've seen numerous pictures and admired it a lot. In the same way I admire the garden of one of the houses in the village I grew up. The gardening skills of that family are gorgeous and I wonder why nobody copied their style. It should be a role model for the other villagers but I think as long as not a significant number of house owners copy that style, things remain as they are. People are habit "monsters" :)

Two posts! Lovely, evocative posts. I'll start with this one.
I love your retro-hairdo, and the photo. You are so game, so ready to engage and enjoy. It's infectious :)
Ah, the fifties. I was young, but still there is an echo of what your pictures show. They bring back memories of diners, especially. Not that I was in many diners, but when we moved to NYC there was an ice cream parlor in the neighborhood, Jahns, that everybody just had to go to. I think I went in there once. It was quite expensive as I recall.
Quite a trip you take us on here. What an eye, to capture the essence of a time and place. Thanks, Erika. That was fun.

You were born in the early 50s, if I don't make a mistake? You certainly have some memories of that time, at any rate my childhood memories are like this: I still see some things clearly in front of me, while of course details are lost. But I remember, for example, the milk bags from the 70s. As a child I wondered why there was milk in soft plastic bags because they couldn't stand in the fridge and were squeezed into the side compartment. But of course that was only to pour the milk into a different container. HaHa! My parents didn't take care of it and sometimes something would spill over when you opened the fridge. Then I remember the extreme flare pants and the very colourful wallpaper in our living room, just like curtains. And plastic bags with cardboard sewn into them. My father's car was an Audi GL 120 in a silver-grey-petrol shade. It was huge! The back seat served me to sleep on longer journeys. Nobody fastened their seat belts at that time.

Thank you for your stimulation. It's contagious, yes, you're right. It is so much pleasure to watch those who enjoy what they do. I am so grateful for it, just like you. The Internet has its many advantages.

Oh, the diners! They are still a very popular interior design style and never went out of fashion. I love them. But only when they are maintained by owners not by franchisers. I remember the cozy atmosphere, when we visited the states in the mid 90s. Were still some originals outside the cities on the roads from one place to the other. The feeling of sliding into one of the comfortable benches remains forever.

Jahn's looks very attractive and lovely. Thank you for the link. I hope I can find one of the cafes I like near my hometown to show you.

Oh, and look at the bar stools! Isn't that such a fine design?

https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwjdo7PyhqvjAhXELFAKHU0WDxIQjRx6BAgBEAQ&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.yelp.com%2Fbiz%2Fjahns-jackson-heights&psig=AOvVaw0xFFrpa38TOC3ywSQXtAyd&ust=1562871924713157

My dear Erika, another lovely trip into the past.
The 70's...I was in my twenties. I had a felt purple hat with a wide brim that I wore to work. Caused a stir, which surprised me, except among the few jazz fans there, who applauded my sense of style😆. I think wearing that hat to work was my last public blast of rebellious youth. At home I wore bell bottoms, tie dyed and paisley. The late sixties into the seventies...that's when I found my stride. Thanks for bringing it back .

I was born in the late forties(!), but lived in the country until 1958. In my youth I saw little of the world. Ask me about trees, fields, cats and dogs. Twice a year the family would get to see a bit of the world. Easter and Christmas we'd take a train, the Grand Central Railroad, to New York City. When we arrived we'd go straight to the automat. It was like wonderland for me.

You're right... nobody wore seat belts. No cars had air conditioning. The first car I remember looked something like this.

We never had milk in bags. Bottles, but not homogenized. The cream would rise to the top and you could scoop it off.

You have diners in Germany? They are still quite popular here. Actually, I prefer eating there than a formal restaurant if I go out. More casual.

I see you have another blog up. I will go to it as soon as I stop writing this way-too-long comment.
Have a most wonderful day, Erika

Congratulations @erh.germany! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5250 replies. Your next target is to reach 5500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97