A wander in Scotland, from Perth to Dundee.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Greetings friends, today I want to take you on a journey. There's no need to pack anything, just grab a cuppa and take a trip with me from Perth to my hometown Dundee.

We all have our wee quirks in life, one of mine's ( of which there are many) is to walk from Perth back to Dundee. This is something I started after an injury a few years back. The walk in its entirety is just over 27 mile and takes about 6 hours to complete.

For myself, its a time of reflection, to review the past year and to wonder about the years to come.

The following pictures are from one such walk.

A few miles out from Perth at a wee town called Scone, a quirky place just outside of Perth (3.1 miles from the start of our Journey).
scone start.jpg

Leaving Scone we come across another quirky wee place, this time it is....Perth Airport. Not much goes on there it's a small aiport and where I studied a part of my degree in Aircraft Engineering.
13062013068.jpg

Time for us to leave 'civilization' for a bit. Let's go offroad and truly begin our adventure!
13062013069.jpg

Fair is foul and foul is fair.. Yes, its Shakespear time! For those of you who've read MacBeth then I'd like to welcome you to Dunsinane Hill. To quote the Scottish Play "I will not be afraid of death and bane, Till Birnam forest come to Dunsinane". We're not 8.5 miles into our walk, time for a quick cuppa and off we go again!
signautre - Copy.jpg

Is this the Boot of destiny? Probably not, but a random boot that someone else placed here
13062013071 sig - Copy.jpg

A few miles from Dunsinane we come across these suspicious Cows... What are they plotting?
13062013078.jpg
Opposite side of the cows
13062013076.jpg

On the road to a small town called Knapp, we're about 11 miles into our walk so far no rain13062013079.jpg

In the distance we can see the River Tay. At least we're not lost

13062013080.jpg

Knapp! We have arrived, 13 miles into our walk! time for a quick cuppa then off we go.

13062013083.jpg

Civilization??? Dundee in the distance. About 16 miles into our walk

13062013085.jpg

Huzzah on the boundary of home.
13062013086.jpg

A final detour. 22 miles into our walk and we can see the Sidlaws just outside of Dundee. A few more miles to go then home, a cuppa and an early bed.
Dundee  hilst touched upsig) - Copy.jpg

Now that we've come to the end of our adventure through Tayside, I hope that you enjoyed our wee trip together!

Let me know in the comments what you thought about our little walk and if you'd like me to post about other 'adventures' throughout Scotland.

@photocontests4 #Scotland @photocontests

Sort:  

That was an enjoyable post. It took me on a journey through a new-to-me region and yet encountered things that I would encounter on a walk in many places. The shoe made me smile, the cows made me laugh. Beautiful region to explore.

Thank you. I hope that you get the chance to visit Dundee and see our crazy cows for yourself :D. I'll try and post more soon. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92