You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's get this clear.. Beginner Amateur or Professional

in #photography5 years ago

I'm somewhere between beginner and amateur. We'll say novice :P It's a growing-on-me-hobby and I do play with the settings in my phone. I'd like to have a badass camera, no lie. Be up on par with @tattoodjay and take pictures for national geographic like he does Bwahahahahaaa!

Sort:  

LMAO even though I sell a few prints a year and have been likened to a professional by some I am not I am a perhaps serious amateur but fir the most part photography is a hobby fir me and I have never even thought about calling myself a professional
But so many do I got asked last year to help someone who I was a contact with who had marketed themselves as a professional and been paid to shoot a wedding crazy thing was all they had was an iPhone and they asked me to be their second shooter
I declined for a few reasons one I have only done two weddings for free fir family who could not afford a professional and even though the family was very happy I really do not have all the year or experience where I would consider shooting one where the client is paying for it.

2 I would nit want to be seen as working with the idiot that asked me to be his second shooter when they see him turn up with just an iPhone

3 even though he started out asking me to help since I have a real camera and do good work he finished off saying he wouldn’t pay me as the contract was with him but I could gain experience being his second shooter
LMAO An idiot shooting his first wedding with only a cell phone things I would learn from him!!!!

And then he hassled me because the client refused to pay him and threatened to sue if he did not refund the deposit when he turned up at the wedding

Mind you the client should have done better review of him before signing him up to do the wedding

Ok rant over lol

Lmao! Some pro indeed. Glad you declined the offer, he should have been taking lessons from you!

Posted using Partiko Android

thats the funny thing he had been messaging me asking questions for a few weeks

Haha I asked you questions about lightroom about a year ago now lol...

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohh thats different, I suspect the person I am talking about if you mentioned lightroom, he would think you were talking about the room in the house that had the most windows :)

@tattoodjay haha I'm literally dying right now... 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

And I know I joke around a lot but that's true with that person, let me tell you how bad he was I still remember so clearly the first question he asked me and the story behind it

Someone asked to buy one of his photos and he was having trouble getting a good looking print of it and asked me for a tip, I asked where he was printing it, and his Answer

Wait for it, and dont have a drink of you may spit it out

are you ready

he was going to the library, opening the photo on his phone and using a photocopier

Now I know some people are not technically savvy, but!!!!!!!!

Well I thought all professionals had their printing done at the library's Xerox machine from their phone??? 🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Whoa... lol... we have a lot of people in my local community who use cell phones and call themselves "professional".. but yeah I wouldn't want to show up as a second shooter with the original person using a cell phone. And for me even tho I had my camera for a bit now it wasn't until very recently that I have had people approach me asking me to photograph events. (I actually have the first birthday to photograph in sept to the people I did their baby shower) I do not charge a lot because I'm still building my portfolio.. and I do sell some of my prints from people who see my posts on Facebook and would like a copy of it.. and then this first Friday artwalk..

But it really irk'd me when I seen a few people classify their photos as something it was not... I felt extremely defeated as I has worked my way up the food chain to get to where I am now...

Posted using Partiko Android

That’s understandable feeling a bit defeated let’s face it some people have a seriously over inflated ego just don’t let them get to you

💕💕💕💕💕

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it's awesome you have turned a passionate hobby into a profession. Won't get bored that way. Most people never get that chance, so kudos on the ups!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67974.72
ETH 3841.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74