You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flip and Flop, my first house remodel

I've been trying to get back to comment on this post for several days!! (Shows you what my schedule is like!!) But I can't just let any more time pass before telling you what a marvelous job you did on this little cottage of a house! My goodness, but it is beautiful! I'm sorry you had such an unpleasant experience with it.

Why were the neighbors upset? Did they object to the noise and mess of construction? Or did this house not fit the ambiance in the rest of the neighborhood in their opinion? Did it stand out too much and make their homes look shabby? (I know. People get themselves upset over over some really strange things!) That's so discouraging when you know you're doing a good job and think you're doing a service to the community!

I can't imagine damaging such a beautiful place. It really is a work of art. And I know lots of people think being a landlord is an easy way to make a living -- but I've heard too many first hand experiences that say otherwise.

When he's not glued to his computer, my husband can do work like this -- and enjoys it. But I think we'll stick to doing "improvements" on our home rather than trust someone else to appreciate the effort and treat it fairly.

Do keep posting. I enjoy seeing your beautiful work.

Sort:  

Thanks @enchantedspirit, I actually showed up to their meeting they were having to try to stop me from building. Mostly they wanted to keep the houses small in the neighborhood, under a 1,000sf,maybe that bigger houses didn't fit in, they didn't want the taxes to go up, and I think they wanted to keep out families with kids. They tried to say they were historic houses, but they weren't historic, they were 50 years old track homes and cheaply made without architectural significance. My dad thought it was just jealousy. After I finished the house other people started doing the same thing, or building new houses on the old lots. The neighborhood is very nice now with a mix of old and new houses, different sizes and styles.

I agree with your dad. Sounds like jealousy to me. And I'd say it all worked out well in the end, even if your part of it wasn't so pleasant. Karma has a way of coming back around, so you should have a nice little reward in the pipeline for all your trouble just based on your good intentions and what eventually came of them. Maybe you've already seen it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52