The Snowy Egret-A Symbolic Transition

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Birds possess much symbolism in art and literature. They represent liberation, wisdom, magic, love, luck and joy to name a few. I have always felt a powerful connection to all feathered creatures. I live my daily life surrounded by many winged things. But despite how much I love my life here at the sanctuary, the work that I do and all of the freedom symbolized in the multitude of feathers that surround me, sometimes I start to feel very weighed down by life and it's abundant responsibilities.

Sometimes my heart and mind long to take a break and ride the wind. When I feel that urge, I will often fly south for a weekend. One of my beloved destinations is Chincoteague Island off the coast of Virginia. Outside of tourist season, it is a quiet and quaint small town island.


Egret7ST2.JPG

Click on the image to view full screen!

At many times in my life, and for many reasons, I have found myself on this familiar little island. It is a mere stone's throw from Assateague Island National Park. The entire Island of Assateague is a Wildlife Sanctuary and thus protected from development. It is home to a wide array gorgeous birds as well as other wildlife and sea life. It is also a layover point for many migratory species, although it is most famous for the wild ponies that roam the island as their home.

So, when I found myself overwhelmed caring for my mother who was in the throes of an all too brief battle with cancer, it was no wonder that I chose to seek refuge in a place so deeply embedded in much of my personal history. On this particular visit I found myself entranced by the beauty of the flocks of Snowy Egrets on the island. I found great peace and comfort in watching them fish, fly and simply rest in both flocks and in solitude. I honestly couldn't tell you how many hours I sat watching them through the lens of my camera. They seemed thoroughly apathetic to my presence, which allowed me wonderful views into their private little world.

On this occasion, we made the round trip in just under 24 hours. I simply couldn't afford to be away any longer, but I deeply needed the brief respite it provided. Before I even made it home, I received a call from my father. We went directly to my parents home and made the decision to make my mother's final admittance to the hospital. She passed away just days later. My life as I knew it would never be the same; that trip was the last vestige of my old life and the drive home would be the transition into a whole new one.

Until recently, I had not even picked up my camera since her death. I've taken many snapshots on my smart phone, but my Canon DSLR sat untouched in my camera bag. Whether it was for lack of want to express myself in that way or a total deficiency of free time, I had virtually deserted that part of my life. Now, since my introduction to Steemit, I have a renewed interest in the creative outlet that photography provides me.

These are some of the images that I discovered on the camera card still in my untouched camera. I was surprised and pleased to see what the little abandoned memory card held and the memories that it kept safe for me until I was ready to share them with the world. I like to think these beautiful white birds are symbolic of the transition that my mother made and hope that where ever she is her soul is flying free.

Sort:  

Your photos are amazing. And your mother is missed. HUGS

Thank you. I appreciate that. I hope that this is just what I needed to get back to work on photography and find a new normal.

It certainly will help, I'm sure. ;-) When they come back, you should do a series on your pileateds.

Good idea! They come every spring now and then bring the babies once they fledge.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

I accept! Thank you, that's wonderful!

¡Congratulations! This post has been randomly Upvote and Resteemed! to more Upvotes and Resteemed follow me

Oh, this is beautiful!! I'm sorry for the loss of your mother. I'm glad you've returned to your art. <3

Thank you! I appreciate that. :-)

Such a magestical creature!=D
If you really like cute creatures check my latest post
I would much appreciate the support!

Thank you for sharing your beautiful photos and thoughts on the snowy egret. It is my favorite bird to watch and am blessed to have one with me today. Transition and hope. Your words and the egret brought those to me today. Hope you are blessed and still sharing your gift.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60181.64
ETH 2539.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46