A Morbid Fascination with Death: A Photographic Study

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Recently I have developed a morbid fascination with death. Although I'm not sure there is a fascination with death that one wouldn't describe as morbid.

MorbidFascination6ST.JPG
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

So many questions swirl around in my subconscious and, without warning, they fracture my relative oblivion and pour out into my stream of consciousness. Sometimes I take pause and ponder the query, other times it's fleeting and I simply shake it off as I hurry through another day's activities. Tasks that seem imperative at the time, but meaningless in the grand scheme of the universe. But that is my life. I define my life by the activities I choose. I have often described myself less as a human BE-ing and more of a human DO-ing. It is my chosen purpose in life to create, to nurture, and to assist my fellow man and the many creatures of this Earth. I have essentially generated a constant momentum that unless acted upon by an outside force keeps me going. Most recently the outside force that stopped me in my tracks was death. Not literally, of course--obviously I'm not writing this from beyond the grave. No I mean the concept of death.

MorbidFascination9ST.JPG
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

What is the definition of death? Quite succinctly, it is the absence of all life signs. But as I struggle to understand my own personal characterization of death, I realize that my definition seems to be in a state of flux. Is death a concrete state or is it a process with a beginning and an end? What is the moment where a beautiful healthy entity loses its grip on life and begins the spiral into entropy and eventually death.

MorbidFascination7ST.JPG
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

In the prime of our lives, death is perceived as something that afflicts the elderly and infirm. Sure there is the errant accident that takes a life long before its time, but you don't look at a person in their 20's, 30's 40's, and even 50's and define them in terms of death.

MorbidFascination2ST.JPG
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

I began to see death not as a destination, but as a journey. Implying that death is where we are all going, but there are many ways to get there (and many things to see along the way) and the journey itself, albeit taking us all to the same place, has the potential to contain so much life. We should not be defined by the way we die, but by the way we lived.

MorbidFascination4ST.JPG
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

My current experience with death was akin to buying a new car. Bear with me, this is actually going somewhere. Imagine, you find and purchase the perfect new vehicle. It seems so unique. Then in the next few days and weeks, you begin to see them everywhere. Did that many people just buy the exact same car? Not likely. More likely, you simple became aware and began to notice. That's been my experience with death. I was blissfully unaware. In the prime of my life and in relative substantial health. And so I thought my husband was too. Even after his stage 4 cancer diagnosis, I still steal long gazes at him while he was unaware. Unable to wrap my head around the idea that this man that appeared so healthy was in fact in the beginning stages of entropy. Inside, his body had begun the spiral of deterioration and decline that would eventually lead to his demise. It feels unreal. Now, I see death everywhere. The weird part is that I see a beauty in the chaos that I never noticed before.

MorbidFascination3ST.JPG
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

As I sat quietly watching the last rays of the sun disappear over the ridge behind the house, I sipped at a glass of wine and simply surveyed my surroundings. In the hustle and the bustle of oncology visits, hospital trips and diagnostic tests, I had left a vase of beautiful tulips to die on the dining room table where I sat. Normally I would have disposed of them as soon as their life essence was spent. Delivering them to the compost pile to return their remains to the earth so that their energy could be transmuted and become the nourishment for a new life to begin. I looked at them and simply did not care that these dead flowers still inhabited this space. Their lifelessness transcended death. But in that moment, I began to see them differently. I began to see a splendor and magnificence in the veritable corpses that lazily draped over the sides of the crystal they inhabited so beautifully a mere week before. I felt overwhelmingly compelled to pick up my camera. I wasn't sure if I could capture the beauty I was seeing, but I had to try.

MorbidFascination10ST.JPG
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

MorbidFascination8ST.JPG
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

MorbidFascination11ST.JPG
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

MorbidFascination1ST.JPG
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

Sort:  

Enjoyed your musings on death. Certainly with the challenges you and your husband face death becomes a part of life one must be aware of.

I had a very strange experience about a year ago. Each night when I went to bed I went through the process of dying. I would be in that state just before sleep and I'd have this absolutely real experiences of death. I died from fire, drowning, torture, being hung, being killed by some wild beast... etc. I would die three times a night. It was rather a stunning and overwhelming experience. Finally after the 30th night I cried out, "Enough. That's enough!" and the dream/visions stopped.

What I learned however is that death is a piece of cake. It's as simple as taking a breath. One moment you are in a physical body the next you are not. Now the dying part leading up to death...that can be very challenging. But I have no fear of death or whats to come after.

Many blessings. Mistermercury.

@mistermercury, that is a very unusual experience, thank you for sharing it. Definitely death is part of our every day life. I have watched several people that I was very close to die in the past couple years. It creates a very unique awareness of one's own mortality.

Long live upton studio , awesome clicks @elsbeth-upton
I really liked this post .
100% upvote received from me @otechsteem and @shunnoo his friend @banjo with love and respect.

I will be glad if you upvote my comment.

What kind of pictures do you take?

I take all kinds of pictures, but I specialize in portrait photography. Not just people, but animals also.

Thank you, I really appreciate that!

Even in death there is inspiration.

Death for one is the beginning of a new life for another. Think of it as taking turns at life force.

Hi elsbeth-upton,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Comment removed

It is true that we only notice what we are aware of. Without awareness, there is no scope for learning. It is all a part of our human curiosity.
While curiosity may be the birth, learning may be sustenance, and knowledge may be death. As in all things, death is a part of the package deal called life which we all must ultimately accept, for we have no control over it.

I am extremely sorry to hear about your husband. I hope he finds peace in his final hours in this world.

Thank you, that is beautifully written.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99