You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: March Of The Lady Birds | Photo Album

in #photography6 years ago

Turns out in the fall they swarm like this to keep warm

What? I didn't know that! But what happens after fall? do they die in the winter? A lot of insects do hibernate, Lady Bugs do too?

I knew Lady Bugs were badass hunters but I didn't knew anything else! I leaning so much right now lol

Sort:  

Oh. My. Gosh. Am I about to educate the for dummies guy!?! best moment ever...

They actually live for 2-3 years and I think they just hibernate in this way through the winter. Where they were it doesn’t get terribly cold, and I have seen them all the way up until January like this. Where they go after that, I’m not actually sure. But I do know this is when you see them clumped together like so.

They are amazing.. definitely worth looking into a bit 🐞❤️

Holy shit they hibernate in groups? That's fascinating! Do they look for warmer places as winter progresses or they just take a stand against the cold? lol Propably in spring they go out a make more Lady Bugs but the way they manage to avoid freezing in the winter is so cool, seriously THEY'RE SO LITTLE!!!

Yep! The huddle up together in the sun during the day and then take cover in a log/bark etc when it gets colder. They are so little! And so stinking adorable ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62269.38
ETH 2424.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58