Africa through my lens - PHOTOS and MEMORIES

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemers,

This is Alessandro. I work with Elena on films and documentaries. Follow us! See the previous post! (Actually..how can I tag the previous post here?help!)
We want to take you for a long journey to the Balkans with our on the road documentary series. If you like extreme travel adventures and some charismatic people to meet on the way, then stay with us.

Alessandro_Leonardi_Rwanda_Lands_of_Lost_Content_Elena_Horn.jpeg

Now, I want to go for a different journey. A quiver runs through my fingers when I think of all the stories I would like to share with you. It's an overwhelming feeling but luckily my hands start writing, anticipating my thoughts. Steemit gives me a great chance to write, revisit the past and fish into my memory, for whom this may concern! I will be true to myself and tell you some life anecdotes. If you like the deal, then chip in, comment, upvote, give me a piece of life advice, suggest me new destinations or teach me how to take better photos!

I have lived life quite fast in the last four years, taking flights as thought they were buses, moving from my base in London to Germany, Italy, East Africa, Scandinavia, the Balkans and wherever there was a story to be told with the camera. I haven't questioned much what I have been doing because doing it is out of question - the only way to go. Yes, I have truly, wholeheartedly enjoyed every choice I have made.

But now I have a problem: I have collected way more experiences than I can remember!

Today, I want to show you Africa through my lens, in an effort to bring memories to life again. This time it's gonna be photos, although they are not my cup of tea, usually. I am too much in love with the motion pictures.

'Photography is truth. The cinema is truth twenty-four times per second'
Jean-Luc Godard

Nevertheless, I had a Canon 5D mark III and a 50mm lens with me and I couldn't help it. East Africa is breathtaking. And if you take your time to explore it for real, you won't be the same person ever again. As far as I am concerned, it changed my life. And here are some reasons why.

1. People
This is a crossroad in Kampala, Uganda. That's when I realised how chaos can have an order. Life streams through each street with some accidents and yet relentless.
image

2. Contradictions
Zanzibar, Tanzania. Heaven on earth. Luxurious hotels are managed by Europeans or Americans whereas the local majority are Muslims and when we were there they wouldn't even sell us water as it was Ramadan.

3. Creativity
It's true. When you don't have much, that's when you get creative. Senses are alert. Colors are brighter then you will ever see them. Things smell and taste like it's your first time. Here you move with rythm because music is with you from birth. We all come from here.

image

4. Pride
An African lady in Kisumu (Kenya) once told me: 'you have clocks but we have time'. The rythm of things there is really of another kind.

image

5. The lesson
When death is around the corner and not hidden, not taboo, then you are a bit closer to 'the reality of life'. I was in a 3 hours ride off road on a bus in the desert. I was squeezed in the middle - standing - when a woman puked all over the place and there was no shame or disgust or fake compassion whatsoever. We are all humans after all.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Sort:  

Nice pictures man. I know how you feel about Africa. Its beautiful place and even more beautiful people. I spent 9 months volunteering in Cameroon and it was very life enriching experience. Enjoy the travels and looking forward to hear more from you.

Hi @bluudz - maybe this is also interesting for you.

https://steemit.com/photography/@elenahornfilm/africa-through-my-lens-part2-120-years-old-lady

By the way, I would love to read about your experience in Cameroon.

Thank you @bluudz I tried to describe my sensations as they come and as much I can recollect them.

Thanks for the post @elenahornfilm! Good luck out there and keep up with the amazing photos!

@burgerfies - thank you very much! There is a couple more I would like to show you!

xx

@burgernfries I made another post with pictures I took in Africa. I met a lady that was 120 years old!!!!

https://steemit.com/photography/@elenahornfilm/africa-through-my-lens-part2-120-years-old-lady

xx

You know, I have never seen a skinny cow..and although the girl in the pink top has a flat face she oddly looks like me 😱 or remind me of myself.

Dear @jpinka I love your face! Yes that cow run away away and started a panic in the village until these two gentlemen cought her. That is lake Victoria in the backgroung by the way

Hi @jpinka - I wrote a second post with some impressions from AFRICA. Let me know your opinion!

https://steemit.com/photography/@elenahornfilm/africa-through-my-lens-part2-120-years-old-lady

Hola qué tal sólo pasaba a saludar y a dejar la buena vibra por este artículo un gran abrazo y saludos

@rogeer Cracias para tiyo mensaje p para sentire la magia di africa! x

@rogeer - maybe this is also interesting for you. I made a part two of this post.

https://steemit.com/photography/@elenahornfilm/africa-through-my-lens-part2-120-years-old-lady

hi my friend i am a photographer and want to create a daily photo marathon with photos from various trips, i want to post 1-2 pics from your trip if you are ok with it let me know (with reference to your blog of course)

Hi @bllackwidow I am flattered. Yes help yourself with my pics and let me know when you start off the contest

Just followed you of course! x

Great job! It was sad to see piles of garbage on the third photo... Probably it is one of the main problems in Africa.

Thank you @lordofthemidges ! Well yes in some areas the collection of trash isn't done sistematically or isn't happening at all but western coorporation are making it unbearable by dumping their waste too.

beautiful storytelling !

Thanks a lot @victorbz I will write more then

just do it !! :-)

Wooooww your pictures is amaizing , congratulations.

@mochilatv - thank you very much for this compliment.

I made a part two of this post.

https://steemit.com/photography/@elenahornfilm/africa-through-my-lens-part2-120-years-old-lady

Let me know what you think!

Great work!!! I love it...
Congratulations!
And thanks for sharing your experience with us!!
Greetings from Venezuela

Hi @hada , thank you for your encouraging message!

How is Venezuela at the moment!??! x

It is not a secret to anyone that we are in a bad situation, right?... Well... let me tell you that it is much worse than it seems ...
This government is a horrible killer.
This weekend will be decisive ... I hope everything goes well, and things get better here!

Thank you so much for asking !!

Dear @hada

yes, I'm aware the situation must be dreadful at the moment. Is it correct that the President of Venezuela is elected by plurality in a single round of voting?

Please, please keep us posted on what is going on!!! x

On Sunday they made a fraudulent election, to choose candidates from the same political party, to modify our national constitution. Obviously they won ...
Only that day, the national guard killed 15 people who were among the demonstrators ... we are definitely in dictatorship...

The situation seems to get worse every time ... the only reasonable solution (for who can) is to leave the country

@hada , this is really a horrible situation. Here on the BBC it's in the news every day but I feel like I understand much more from you writing about it.

I made a part two of the Arica photos - maybe something to cheer you up?

https://steemit.com/photography/@elenahornfilm/africa-through-my-lens-part2-120-years-old-lady

Let me know your opinion.

Hey wow great pictures and also wanted to saythanksforthe comment on my post , would be grateful for a follow for one in return

@r8gamez of course we are following you! and are upvoting for you. Yeah! Teamwork! x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.38
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47