Flying over Moreton Bay

in #photography6 years ago

I haven't posted in about a week, as I've been making the big move back to Australia for the next year. It's been full on getting things organised, but I'm so happy to be back. It's such a beautiful country and I have so much to explore over the next little while.

I'm very fortunate to have a brother who just recently got his pilot's license, and he offered to take me on a scenic flight the day after I arrived home to explore beautiful Moreton Bay from the air. It was such a treat!

We headed east off the mainland, first towards Moreton Island and the Tangalooma resort area. It was a perfectly sunny and clear day.

Tangalooma Wrecks that you can see below is an incredibly popular snorkelling and diving spot, famous for huge amounts of fish and reef sharks. The wrecks were placed there on purpose to create a safe harbour for people to dock their boats in.

If you look suuuuper closely, you can see the snorkellers and divers and their buoys. I've swam from the beach to the wrecks before and the current is so strong in that little channel.

We then flew south towards North Stradbroke Island to check out the surf points and rocky cliffs from above. It was a Sunday so there were boats everywhere full of people enjoying their summer weekend.

The colour of the water was unreal. I've missed it so much.

We circled around Amity Point, a popular surf spot and is known for its Great White Sharks! Safe to say it's not my favourite place to go for a dip, but it's beautiful nonetheless.

South East Queensland is absolutely one of the best regions to explore in Australia if you're ever visiting. Make sure you make a trip to Moreton or Stradbroke Islands if you're Down Under, the amount of activities you can do in the area is seriously amazing.


I'm a 25 year old photographer from Australia, who has been exploring North America for the past three years and I'm finally back home! I'm in love with the outdoors and love sharing my passion with others through my photos.

Please upvote, follow and resteem! Stay tuned for many more of my explorations!

Eleanor :)

Sort:  

Wow looks an absolutely stunning flight. Nice photos.

Thank you! It was so beautiful, I've been to these places so many times before, but never seen it from the air, it changes the perspective so much.

This is absolutely amazing! How cool your brother is a pilot ánd invited you on a flight, beautiful coastal views.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99